RSS

Its Crunch Time!

23 Jul

So here’s the dealio…my once all-consuming sweet tooth has gone on a vacation. Its been replaced by a savoury doppelgänger! That is to say…I’m craving salty, crunchy things. This addiction has gotten so bad I recently caught myself in the pantry shoving honey ham chips into my face until my lips got little cuts on them from the sharp chip edges. Oh don’t act like you’ve never done it. I know you have.

My shame comes from my repeated declarations that I’m going to turn my diet around and eat more healthy, fresh and non-packaged foods. But that salty, savoury monster just won’t quit. What is a girl to do?

Tonight the monster was at his worst…caressing me with his evil tongue. ‘Eat fried chicken’ it cooed. I briefly considered doing the drive thru option but sense prevailed. I’d make my own crispy, crunchy chicken but…I’d do it the healthy way.

Cue…the Homestyle KFC Extravaganza!

Ingredients

  • 500g chicken breasts
  • Box of cornflake crumbs
  • Tub natural yogurt
  • Spices of your choice

Pre-heat your oven to 200c (fan forced). Roll up your sleeves.

Put about half of your crumbs into a ziplock bag with the spice of your choice. I have no idea what the 11 herbs and spices are so I just put a bit of this and that. I quite like Moroccan spices.

Next cut the chicken into strips, coat them in yoghurt and then shake them in the crumbs. The yoghurt both helps to lock in the moisture and creates crunchy little balls of coating.

Place on a baking tray and spray with oil. Bake for about 15 mins and then check to make sure they’re cooked. And voila! Instant fried (ok baked) chicken!

You can serve it with whatever you like. A salad, some oven chips, mashed potato. But tonight I put it in a tortilla wrap with salad and my ‘special’ sauce. In case you didn’t know, ‘special’ sauce is code for ‘we didn’t have any store-bought sauce, I’ll make it up with whatever I have’. Tonight’s special sauce was a mixture of natural yoghurt, cream and sweet chilli sauce.

This dinner really appeased my salty, crunchy monster. But if you have any other healthy recipes for such things, my monster would get down on his knees and kiss your salty little feet for the favour.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Its Crunch Time!

  1. Actual Grand-Daughter of Colonel H.D. Sanders

    July 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

    What exactly are the secret herbs and spices to this naughty yet delectable faux-fast-food dish???

     
    • Jen

      July 24, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      Well, usually I just use a pre mix blend of Morroccan spices from the store. But I didn’t have any. So I used a pre-mix call All Spice. I’m not sure what is even in it but its got the goods. I’m an advocate for using the flavours that appeal to you. If you like it spicy use a bit of hot paprika or chilli powder. If you like it herby, used a mix of dried herbs. The possibilities are endless!

      Today I made a wrap with the left over chicken, some baby spinach, some grated mozeralla cheese and some dijon mustard and toasted it in the sandwhich press. I’m eating it as we speak and its super delicious.

      Good luck! :)

       
  2. Nerida Craggy-Hoop

    July 27, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    OMG, GET OUT OF TOWN, i’m eating baby spinach leaves as we speak that were kindly donated to me by a lovely generous workmate, WHAT ARE THE ODDS?!? Now all i need is a nice bit o’ spicy chicken as per this recipe that i just happened to stumble across….SPINACH SISTERZZZZ!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

