RSS

The Ultimate Placebo

03 Sep

It seems I have been neglecting you all. If you can believe it, its been almost 6 weeks since I’ve written a post! There has been a good reason, which I hope to share with you one day soon. However, mostly I think it has a lot to do with the Winter Blues. Its been horribly cold here with snow and sleet and rain and ice. Brrrrrrr! All that my mind and body has wanted to do has been sit by the fire and crochet. Or watch old episodes of Super Nanny. Needless to say, that doesn’t make for great post material.

My husband has had a bad case of winter doldrums too. We keep telling each other we need a holiday but we usually just say “yeah, we sure do” and then go right back to watching Jo Frost say “that behaviour is unasseptable.”

So yesterday as I sat in the long-lost sunshine reading the Sunday paper, I happened to stumble across a holiday special to Fiji. I tore it out of the paper and this morning I stuck it on the fridge. When I saw my husband I subtly winked towards the fridge. “That’s weird.” he said. “What is?” I asked. He replied “I was only thinking about going on a holiday to Fiji last night.”  Before he could finish his sentence I was already there, sitting on the beach, drinking a cocktail.

I know this is crazy but today I feel so much better. Just the idea of a holiday has picked me up and I feel like buckets of sunshine are pouring over me. because I’m not one to let a potential opportunity escape me, at lunchtime I hot footed it straight to the Travel Agents! She talked to me about all the options and I expressly told her I wanted a Beachfront Bure. She sent me away with lots of ideas and a tantalising, glossy brochure. Even having that brochure on my desk seemed to brighten my office.

So, who knows if I will ever get my beachfront room with sun-loungers overlooking the rich blue ocean. But today, it doesn’t matter. I had a little holiday in my mind. (And in that holiday, I didn’t get sunburnt).

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Ultimate Placebo

  1. dutchgoesitalian

    September 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Welcome back :) Oh and that photo on the magazine is really beautiful!! Looking to the rain outside here make me want to go there too :)

     
    • Jen

      September 4, 2012 at 6:59 am

      I love the rain…in small doses. It sounds like everyone needs a sunshine filled holiday! Let’s go!!

       
  2. cross(stitch)yourheart

    September 4, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Sounds fantastic, after all these days of rain and gloomy weather I could use a trip to Fiji too! Although we’ve had weather in the upper 90s for the past two weeks so I think I’d actually improve with some of the cold weather too. Think you can send some over?

     
    • Jen

      September 4, 2012 at 6:57 am

      You can take all our cold weather! Lol. Swapsies?

       
  3. Viveka

    September 4, 2012 at 2:45 am

    I really hope that you will see your ocean and hut on beach, but I agree that just to planning a trip is uplifting – I was planning different trips every week during me cancer treatments and it help me – kept me busy and didn’t think so much on how I felt. Really enjoyed my travelling, just what I needed and like you – get away … even if it’s the daydreams.

     
    • Jen

      September 4, 2012 at 7:01 am

      Oh thanks Wivi. Me too. I’m sorry to hear of your battle with cancer but it sounds like you had an unbelievable positive attitude! I think that can make a lot of difference. :)

       
  4. Katie

    September 4, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Long lost sunshine….
    Long lost modern woman!!!
    Great to hear from you!
    Fiji sounds amazing… Better just check
    Your suitcase before you lift off…
    There may be a young girl named
    Katie hiding inside!

     
    • Jen

      September 4, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Oooh. I’d love a little Katie luggage!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

