RSS

Confessions of a food addict…

08 Oct

Ever since I can remember, I’ve been having a tumultuous love affair with food. At times we are consumed by each other, locking ourselves away from the rest of the world and indulgently taking pleasure in our relationship.

Other times, I come to my senses and realise what food has done to me and I shun it, refusing to see it at all. In the past this has been a time of mixed emotions. Food provides me with a comfort, a reassurance and escape. And not just the eating of it either. I take pleasure in the thought of it, the planning of it, the making of it and of course, the eating of it.

I think the biggest self-realisation is, that in all areas of my life, I’m an ”all or nothing” type of girl. I find it hard to do anything half-heartedly. And food is definitely no exception. But as I’m getting older, I find that my food benders are much harder to recover from. And if a recent experience is anything to go by, food is getting jack of my indecisiveness. On the weekend, in a rebellious show of defiance, it gave me quite a nasty allergic reaction and a rather hideous swollen face. Never before have I been allergic to any culinary delight. I did not take the warning lightly…I promise to be a much more consistent lover in the future.

I’m also trying a very considered approach to ‘moderation’. Hmmm, not a word I’m particularly fond of. But while I’m trying a more healthy approach to our relationship, I think a little badness doesn’t hurt every now and then.

So here’s the plan. I’m going to keep calm and still add butter. But I’ll do it in moderation….and sometimes substitute it for margarine.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Confessions of a food addict…

  1. Viciously Sweet

    October 9, 2012 at 8:18 am

    I too am a “all or nothing” kind of experiencer of life. I hope you didn’t get too ill from food. I found a few years ago I am allergic to cherries… when all my childhood and teen years I would eat them like they were going out of style. Now we are broken up, I miss them so.

     
    • Jen

      October 9, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      Somehow, I kinda knew you were an all or nothing girl. Oh no! Not cherries! They are one of the happiest fruits of all aren’t they? I’m sorry you and the cherry are no longer talking. Perhaps one day, you’ll get back together…with no horrible side effects

       
  2. Jen

    October 9, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    Somehow, I kinda knew you were an all or nothing girl. :) Oh no! Not cherries! They are one of the happiest fruits of all aren’t they? I’m sorry you and the cherry are no longer talking. Perhaps one day, you’ll get back together…with no horrible side effects.

     
  3. Jen and Tonic

    October 19, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    You and me are def cut from the same cloth

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

