RSS

When you handmake yourself into trouble…

17 Dec

Greetings long-lost friends! I hear you saying “where the heck did she go?”. Good question.

Lets flash back to the 14 September where I gallantly proclaim to the entire online world that I’m going to make all of my Christmas gifts this year. My super cool international twin (Sips of Jen and Tonic) gets on board and we decide to set up an entirely new blog dedicated to the cause. We even create a Facebook page to announce all of our wonderful handcrafted Christmas cheer. Fast forward three months and with one week to go, I’m still frantically running around like a turkey with its head cut off. Poor (delicious) turkey. So…where did I go wrong? Let’s find out:-

  1. Publicly declaring this monstrous task. Instead of pretending I’d had a moment of drunken fantasy, it was there in black and white for everyone to see.
  2. Thinking that 3 months would be adequate time to create handmade gifts for everyone – obviously forgetting the fact that making something takes considerably more time than buying something. Factoring in weekends driving here and there to source materials to make said gifts and I was already behind.
  3. Forgetting I had a life with other areas of importance which needed to be tended to. Including a full-time job, a house, friends and family. So throw in weekends full of housework, grocery shopping, birthday parties, family get-togethers and trying to start a new local market, I now was not only behind, I was stressed about being behind.

All in all I managed to make about 20 jars of jam, 5 sets of coasters, 4 kitchen hand towels, 3 circle skirts and a partridge in a pear tree. But I certainly haven’t had time to document and blog about these projects. Luckily there are people out there that haven’t over-committed themselves and are more than happy to share their creative projects with the rest of us on the Handmade Christmas Project blog. If they didn’t, it would be a rather sad solitary bauble on the blogging Christmas tree.

Thank you to everyone who shared my initial enthusiasm, encouraged me and inspired me. Although I didn’t complete my 100% handmade Christmas (yes there have been some sneaky, store-bought gifts), and I made myself majorly stressed about the whole thing, I’m still very proud to be giving gifts made with care and love this season.

If you’d like to read what we did have time to blog about, head over to the HCP blog for a look-see. Let me take this opportunity to wish all of you a really wonderful Christmas. Wherever and whoever you’re spending it with, I hope it’s filled with magic. Thanks for a great year full of truly wonderful reading experiences. I’ve made some amazing friends by starting my blog and you’re all creating your own handmade magic everyday. Ho! Ho! Ho.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “When you handmake yourself into trouble…

  1. Jen and Tonic

    December 18, 2012 at 9:45 am

    I handmade about half of my gifts this year. The men in my family are hard to buy for, and some of the projects I wanted to do didn’t come together as easily as I thought they would. Even now, I’m glittering and gluing things. BAH! Too ambitious :)

    Glad to see you back.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

