RSS

Project: Bebe

24 Jan

Holy mother of absence – where have I been all your life??

Very good question. The answer is…I’ve been busy. Not just making my own Christmas presents busy. Like…the busiest I have ever been. The reason why? I’ve been growing a baby. Its been the most amazing, wonderful and terrifying experience I’ve ever had. And I’m not even half way!!! Right now, our little Pickle is 16 weeks old and 11.5cm (4.5in) long. Incredible if you ask me.

Despite the initial 14 weeks of horrendous nausea and gagging fits, everything has been going pretty great. Some days I think I’m the only woman who has ever endured the complete and overwelming tiredness of pregnancy. Or the uncontrollable and irrational emotion that changes like the wind. But the biggest challenge for me? I’m now at the complete and utter mercy of my body. Its in the drivers seat of a rally car and thinks its the Stig.

Night time is the worst. It usually plays out something like this:-

10.32pm – Settle into bed.

10.48pm – Body: I’m hungry. Me: No you’re not, go to sleep. Body: I aaaaaam. I need a snack. Me: But I’ve just brushed my teeth. Oh ok. (Get out of bed, find muesli bar, eat muesli bar)

11.15pm – Crazy dreams.

12.39am – Crazy dreams.

3.18am – Crazy dreams.

4.02am – Body: I need something. Me: What do you need? Body: I’m thirsty, I need water. (Drink water beside bed)

4.18am – Body: Now I need to pee. Me: Really? Ok. (Get out of bed, go to bathroom).

4.32am – Body: I need something else. I’m hungry. Me: No you aren’t. I’m not eating anything. You can have some water. (Drink more water)

4.35am - Body: But I am hungry. I’m starving. I’m starving. I’m starv…I’m feeling sick. I might spew. Yep, I’m gonna spew. Nope, I’m hungry again. Pleeeease??? Me: Geez ok, hang on. (Get up, go to pantry, fumble for something in the dark, find half stale chicken crackers, eat 4 crackers, drink more water, go back to bed)

4.46am – Body: Uh oh…I really need to pee again. Me: Seriously?? Seriously? Body: Well you did drink all that water. (Get out of bed, go to bathroom).

5.06am - Body: I can’t sleep. Those crackers have left a funny taste in my mouth. Me: I agree. (Get out of bed, brush teeth, go back to bed)

6.45am – Me: I have to get up in 15 minutes for work. Body: No way! I’m tired. I’m going back to sleep.

7.15am – Me: Darn!! I slept in. Nice work body, now I’m going to be late! Body: Don’t forget that I want 3 pieces of toast for breakfast this morning.

I eventually make it to work looking almost like a real human. By mid-morning I’m actually feeling like a real human. By 3pm, I’m wishing I could crawl under my desk for a nap. But somehow, I manage to get to the end of the day, drag myself home, sometimes make dinner, sometimes curl up on the couch and start the whole night time routine again.

So why not stay tuned for some more exciting and unbelievable adventures starring: My Body. Rated MA+.

Crafty

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2013 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Project: Bebe

  1. TJLubrano

    January 24, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    Oh my gosh! Congratulations! Your body is still adjusting huh? I mean I’ve heard that for a lot of ladies the second trimester is wonderful (minus the constant peeing and eating) as symptoms usually settle down as well.

    So happy for you!! Enjoy it all!!
    Xx

     
    • Jen

      January 25, 2013 at 10:13 am

      Thanks TJ! Its so exciting. Its definitely much better now that the morning sickness has died down. Now I’m just going to get a big belly!! :)

       
  2. viveka

    January 24, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    Massive congratulations … to the babe. Wonderful news.
    I don’t know anything about how it’s to being pregnant – but I guess it has come cons as it has it joy. Good luck to you both.

     
    • Jen

      January 25, 2013 at 10:14 am

      Awww, thanks Wivi!!! Its a pretty amazing time that’s for sure.

       
  3. Viciously Sweet

    January 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    Oh my Jen! Congratulatons on your baby growing. I have been thinking about you for a few weeks hoping you were doing well! I hope your inner bits and babies calm down so you can not feel like a work sloth. :)
    Also I want to make you a doodle about crafty babies!

     
    • Jen

      January 26, 2013 at 6:57 pm

      Thanks gorgeous!!! It’s full blown excitement city in this house!! Oh my! A baby doodle? I’d be honored. X

       
  4. Jen and Tonic

    January 26, 2013 at 8:47 am

    LITTLE PICKLE! BABY DUB! PEANUT! Seriously, I’m so excited.

    You’re going to be the best mom. Can’t wait to see the little one.

     
    • Jen

      January 26, 2013 at 6:58 pm

      Lol baby dub! You’re such a darling. X

       
  5. silentlyheardonce

    January 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

    Congratulations!!!

     
  6. The Writing Waters Blog

    February 17, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Ah, you took me back. It was either the little critter who is grown up now or the wedding plans that made my nights like that. Enough of me. Congratulations and I hope you continue to enjoy the humor in it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

