RSS

Stop the traffic! Where the heck are my stats?

07 Feb

I’m greedy. Anyone who knows me well, will agree.

I want everything, now. And generally I want a lot of it. So while yesterday I was on statistics sugar high, going crazy over all the sweet candy of my awesome site stats, today I’ve crashed.

I'm sorry Jen, people have just realised you're a fraud. The stats don't lie.

I’m perplexed by the flow of traffic, who it is, how they get here and why today is so dismal compared to yesterday – which kicked ass. I know today isn’t over. But that doesn’t console me. I know that I haven’t been doing this very long, but that only frustrates me.

The Good Jen is saying, “Stop being a baby, your friends have gone ape sh*t about supporting you on this. Just be grateful”. The Bratty Jen is saying “But no-one is reading me today. Whhyyyyyyyyyyyy???”

I’m plagued by self-doubt. Who was I kidding? Why would anyone want to read about my life? Why am I doing this? Maybe I should just delete everything. Well I couldn’t be bothered so I guess I’ll just continue to write about things I’m not sure anyone else is interested in, obsessively check my stats and then beat myself up in private.

(slumped shoulders, sad frowny face).

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Stop the traffic! Where the heck are my stats?

  1. Katie

    February 7, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Oh miss Jennifer!!!
    Calm down We all love you. Ive just been told I might not be able to use my work computer to check your blog…argh! so after hours it may have to be. Peace out stat sister

     
    • jwhichelo

      February 7, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      LOL…thanks KT. A moment of hyper-sentivity overtook me. Its not like me to be dramatic is it? I don’t care when/where you read me. Just as long as you do. 🙂

       
  2. Neets

    February 7, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    All I can do is laugh because you are fabulous~ I AM FILLED WITH SELF DOUBT ALSO.
    Don’t check stats – we hate the stats!

     
    • jwhichelo

      February 7, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      Maintain the statistical rage???

       
  3. Cass

    February 7, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    I used to do the same when I had an etsy shop. Checking it obsessively to see how many people looked at my items, how many ‘loves’ I had etc. It’s human nature. Just keep going!

    Have you read much about attracting readers to your blog? There is a science to it.

     
    • jwhichelo

      February 7, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks Cass…nice to know I’m not the only the one with these issues. Lol. I’ve read a bit about it but there is obviously heaps more I could be doing.

       
  4. suzyness

    February 29, 2012 at 10:55 am

    I hear ya on the stat obsession… I totally get it! “Why isn’t anyone visiting today???” said in a whiny voice. I take comfort in the fact that RSS feed readers don’t show up in the main stats, and assume that everyone has just added me to their feed reader instead. 🙂

    I just found your blog, but I ❤ it already! Keep up the great work.

     
    • Jen

      February 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

      LOL. Feed reader? Something I had not even considered.

      Thank you so much for loving me. Doesn’t that sound weird? And for following me. That sounds even weirder. But I think its awesome that people all over the world can connect like this. I will be checking out your bloggy pronto!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
