RSS

Excuse me? Do I know you?

09 Feb

My routine answer to this question is generally “No, you do not know me. please leave me alone you creepy stranger with a bike”.

You see, I’m assuming I was blessed with a completely generic face. With no discernible features and a welcoming “I’m friendly” look about me.  And it probably doesn’t help that since I was 10 I’ve had every kind of haircut and/or colour combination imaginable. So I probably remind every one of someone.

Being approached randomly is not even limited to strangers with bikes, who cross the road and make a bee-line for me. and try to tell me in no-uncertain terms that they’re sure they know me. Remember I met you at….? No dude, back off. So here are some of the most uncomfortable of my “Excuse me?” incidents:

  1. Gave some creepy bum on the bus a cursory glance to have him choose me to sit next to, when the bus was half empty, tell me all about his life, ask all about mine, get off at the same stop as me and try to follow me home. “Excuse me? Can I get your number?” Eeeeeeee! “Oh sure. Here.” (scribble random number, run into supermarket, hide in frozen food section, avoid bus stop at that time of day for the next 2 weeks).
  2. Walked down the street, to have every charity known to man try to sign me up for something “Excuse me? Can I talk to you for a minute?” Goddamit. “Oh I’m so sorry, I’m late to meet someone.” (run away in a hurry feeling guilty)
  3. Random person on the train “Excuse me? Have you got the time?” The train’s full, why go out of your way to ask me? “Um, no sorry, I don’t wear a watch.”
  4. Random person on the street “Excuse me? Can you tell me how to get to….?” Now this isn’t that bad and I’m quite happy to give people directions. Unless they have a bike and cross the street to ask me.

I’m also usually always the person first asked to given an answer in a meeting or forum. I guess its that I always pay attention and try to look interested, well most of the time anyway. In recent years, the “Excuse me’s?” have eased off. Maybe it’s because I’m getting older and don’t look so generic anymore. Or maybe after years of this, I finally have that “don’t come near me, you jerk” look. Whatever it is, I’m pretty happy about it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Excuse me? Do I know you?

  1. Nikinoonaa

    February 13, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    and how does one reply to ‘you look familiar ?’ appropriately?
    like ‘familiar’ how? ? ????

     
    • Jen

      February 14, 2012 at 9:36 am

      In this case, it could have been “you look familiar like all the other girls I’ve murdered.” Hmmmm, I was not will to take the chance.

       
  2. Viciously Sweet

    February 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Since you have brought up the fact that we could be twins, I must tell you that this always happens to me. Once when I was out with my friends eating dinner an old (rather smelly) man came up to us asked me if I liked magic, and started performing card tricks, and refused to leave when my then boyfriend asked… also a homeless man followed me on a trip around LA to tell me crack is whack… he did have a point though, it is pretty darn whack.

     
    • Jen

      February 15, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      This is getting craaaazeee! LOL….tell me you weren’t born in 1979?

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        February 15, 2012 at 3:02 pm

        Hahaha. Sorry I was born in 1985. But, as you can see by my friend and Abraham Lincoln twins don’t have to be from the same year!

         
      • Jen

        February 15, 2012 at 3:37 pm

        Ok…let me get this straight? Our twinness trancends time, space and logic. I love it.

         

Leave a Reply

 
