RSS

Get your hot nuts here!

11 Feb

These nuts will change your life. Its a big statement but absolutely warranted. I guarantee once you have tried them, you will feel that every other nut you eat in your life will be totally inferior. Full stop, end of story.

Hot Spicy, Salty, Sweety Nuts

  • 500g raw almonds
  • 4 tbs honey
  • 1/2 tsp hot chilli powder (more if you like it hot hot hot)
  • 1 tbs salt
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • spray oil

Preheat oven to 170 degrees. In a large pan, heat honey with chilli powder until warm. Mix in almonds until well coated with honey mixture. Spread over a tray lined with baking paper. (Trust me when I say do NOT forgo the baking paper). Bake in oven for 15-20 mins. Keep your eye on them.

Take them out of the oven and let cool slightly. In a big bowl mix together salt and sugar. I actually double this mixture because I’m greedy and like them extra sweet and extra salty. Toss warm nuts through the sugar/salt mix until well coated. Spread out on another tray to cool completely.

Eat and enjoy. I actually think they have extraordinary health benefits too. I.e. Almonds = good source of protein. Honey = low GI. Chilli powder = aids digestion. Salt = good for leg cramps. Sugar = everyone needs a little sweetening up.  Ok, so I lost it a bit at the end but they taste awesome so…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Get your hot nuts here!

  1. Katie

    February 11, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    mmmmm……. yummy!!!!

     
  2. findingravity

    February 17, 2012 at 2:13 am

    I’ve already bookmarked this! I can’t wait to make them this weekend, almonds are my favorite snack!

     
    • Jen

      February 17, 2012 at 7:43 am

      Fantastic! Please let me know how you go and what you think. Sadly, there are only 2 left in the jar. Once you start…. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
