RSS

Goonies Never Say Die!!

14 Feb

Have you ever watched a movie so many times that you think your childhood was defined by it? Hello world, meet The Goonies!

“Listen, okay? You guys’ll never believe me. There was two cop cars, okay? And they were chasing this four-wheel deal, this real neat ORV, and there were bullets flying all over the place. It was the most amazing thing I ever saw”
-Chunk
 
“First you gotta do the truffle shuffle.”
-Mouth
 
“I’ve got an idea. Why don’t we just spread chocolate all over the floor and let Chunk eat his way through?”
-Mouth
 
“Yeah! thas whah I said, boobie twaps!”
-Data
 

My brothers and I watched it over and over, wishing that Mikey, Data, Mouth and Chunk were our real life friends and we were all Goonies together. I have an over-active, romanticized imagination at the best of times so this was not hard for me to do. Realising that it was probably never going to happen and that no, we wouldn’t get to hunt for “One-Eyed Willy’s” treasure, so began the seemingly endless formations of our own groups. Some of the ones I can remember were:

  • Formed a treasure hunting group with boys next door – The Skulls or The Meatheads (there is debate on the name).
  • Formed a new aged group with school friends – The Buddhas
  • Formed the ultimate rock group to worship and adore her – The Madonna Group.

Subsequently, I remember being hauled into teachers office to discuss how these groups made others feel left out and a group hierarchy made some members feel belittled. And so ended the forming of the groups.

I emphatically believe that The Goonies has truly stood the test of time. Movies of a similar vintage i.e. Robocop has not faired so well. Although it’s probably still worth watching, even if it is to wonder how we ever thought the special effects were so good.

I can still watch The Goonies with absolute pleasure. It defines all that is good about the 1980’s, my childhood and treasure hunting. Here’s to the Truffle Shuffle!! (Even Peter Griffin gets in on that action). Watch it this weekend!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Tune In...

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Goonies Never Say Die!!

  1. kelliegd

    February 14, 2012 at 10:05 am

    Omg Jen! Did we have the same childhood lol 🙂 I have The Goonies on DVD, love it! Might have to watch it again today….

     
    • Jen

      February 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

      Lol…sounds like it!! Wish I was watching it today too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
