RSS

VD – not to be mistaken for an STI

14 Feb

St. Valentines Day. It happens every year. Actually, its been happening every year in some form since 496 AD. But its only been since the 19th century that we’ve come to known it as a day of mass-produced, commercial  consumerism.

When I was 6 years old, our 1st grade class made letter boxes. We painted milk cartons, put our names on them and hung them on the wall. We were then all encouraged to write Valentine’s Day cards to each other. I distinctly remember getting a card from Joshua Hawes, a super cute little boy with sandy coloured hair. It completely made my day. But I also distinctly remember reaching across the table and getting stabbed by a HB pencil. The lead still remains in my hand to this day.

So why is it that we can either be uplifted upon receiving a gift on such a nominated day? Or receive nothing and feel like we were stabbed in the heart by a HB pencil? Beats the heck out of me. My friend posted this on my Facebook wall this morning:

“And what is a modern woman’s take on St Valentines Day? Agree/Disagree with the following statement – Thought Valentines Day was about love and romance? Well you were wrong. Valentine’s Day is a competitive sport and as AskMen.com’s resident dating guru David Wygant helpfully reminds us, it’s all about ‘making your girl look good in front of her co-workers’.”

My response was:

“I happen to agree with Mr Wygant actually. As a modern woman, I can admit that it’s not unusual for women to participate in one-up-ship. Therefore I graciously bow out of Valentines Day. I’ll leave it to 14 year olds with pre-pubescent hormones.”

Fast forward 3 hours and I’m humbly accepting a delivery of white roses. So getting back to the real meaning of Valentines Day, I really appreciate the time and effort my guy has gone to. Even though I expect it will probably never happen again. In the meantime, I’m basking in the glory of how good I look in front of my co-workers because of it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “VD – not to be mistaken for an STI

  1. Viciously Sweet

    February 15, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    I’m so glad you got to look victorious in front of your coworkers. One of my coworkers knows I’m single and bougt me chocolate cake… I felt like Marie Antoinette! Happy Valentines!

     
    • Jen

      February 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      It was the only time…ever! So I totally milked it. Chocolate cake…I shall let you eat it Marie! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
