RSS

Girls Just Wanna…

16 Feb

If you were a girl growing up in the 1980’s, you should remember the following to be the gospel truth:

  • Fluro clothes were in;
  • You made up dance routines (in the above clothes) to songs like Funkytown;
  • You crimped your hair and usually wore it in a side ponytail;
  • You had sleepovers at your friend’s house, watched Dirty Dancing (and hit pause when Johnny got out of bed so you could stare at his bum); and…
  • Sarah Jessica Parker had not morphed into Carrie Bradshaw and was not the definitive goddess of fashion.

In fact, SJP was just starting out and starred in one of my favourite terrible 80’s movies….Girls Just Want to Have Fun. If you’re not familiar with it, here is the plot synopsis in 10 words or less.

Awkward new girl is a great dancer and charms hot guy.

Ok, so that’s 11 words but the movie does go for 90 mins. Also gracing the screen is the rebellious Helen Hunt and the annoying Shannon Doherty. It has everything going for it, iconic 80’s fashion, dancing to iconic 80’s music and smooth moves from an iconic 80’s dude.

Despite the fact that SJP is of course, the heroine in this movie, I think I identify more with Helen’s character – Lynne Stone. I mean who doesn’t love a girl in a grasshopper hat??? No one, that’s who.

Um excuse me, have you seen my pet grasshopper?

So yes, I know it’s a daggy movie. But it brings back great memories for me. So either watch it and accept it for what it is or don’t. If you do, I guarantee you’ll be singing Cyndi Lauper for days.

Lynne, where is Hoppy? And why do you insist on wearing animals on your head?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in Tune In...

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Girls Just Wanna…

  1. Jen and Tonic

    February 16, 2012 at 10:28 am

    I totally remember that movie, and I also like Helen Hunt’s character better!

     
    • Jen

      February 16, 2012 at 10:30 am

      Yeah, she was way cooler. Remember her reversable skirt? She changed from private school girl tartan to rocker chick leather on the bus. Awesome.

       
  2. Viciously Sweet

    February 16, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    I am sad to say I was a younger child during the 1980s but I still danced in fluorescent outfits (maybe even now a little), the only difference is that I had a bowl cut and lack of crimp. And Helen Hunt is totally cooler than SJP in this movie, she is the most fun girl at a catholic school ever. I actually wish I had been more like her in Catholic high school singing songs at nuns and such!

     
    • Jen

      February 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm

      Ha! I also had a bowl haircut…but in the early 90’s. I have pictures where even I have to look twice to make sure its not my younger brother. Yikes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
