RSS

Say my name, Jelly.

17 Feb

Ever had someone call you by the wrong name? Happens all the time to me. Mostly on the phone though when people mistake me for a Jan, not Jen. I solved that problem by always saying…”Its Jennifer speaking…”

Do I look like jelly?

When I was a kid I got Jenny a lot. I hated it. For a while I changed the spelling to “Jenni” because I thought it looked cooler. But it never changed the fact that it reminded me of jelly.

  1. I absolutely can’t stand the look, feel or taste of jelly; and
  2. Who wants to be likened to a big blobby, wobbly dessert? Not me.

So its either Jen or Jennifer. (Jennifer when I’m in trouble and/or on the phone).

In London I used to work with a guy that insisted on calling me Jill. He’d bring work out to me and say “Oh hi Jill, can you just type this up for me? Thanks Jill, that’s great.” Um, its Jen. Its Jen!!! Nup, for some reason I was immortally burnt into his brain as a Jill. Sheesh. In the end I thought two can play this game and started calling him Derk. His name was Derek. The thing was, he didn’t seem to mind. Maybe names aren’t really his thing. Whatever. Just don’t call me Jelly.

Here is an actual extract from my London journal dated 16 August 1999:-

What is more disturbing? That I actually thought this was worth journaling? Or that I knew exactly where to find it in my journal?

This post is dedicated to Christine. Or is that Kristy? Thanks my love.Β 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Say my name, Jelly.

  1. Viciously Sweet

    February 17, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Oh my gosh! His obliviousness is the worst! Also, I must say I have never noticed how much “Jenny” looks like “Jelly”… but I do know that I don’t like people to call me “Laurie” not just because it isn’t my name, but it makes me sound like I live in the wild west and have only a singular armadillo as my company. So I totally understand.

     
    • Jen

      February 17, 2012 at 8:49 am

      LOL!! You make me laugh!! I’d love to see a doodle of you with your armadillo. I also fully expect that “Laurie” would carry a six shooter and wear the most fabulous boots.

       
  2. Jen and Tonic

    February 17, 2012 at 8:54 am

    I swear that I could have written this post! Why do people have such a hard time with our name?! I’ve been called: Jan, Jannifer, Jill, Jilly, Joan, Janet, JOHN, Jenna, Jemma. Oh boy.

    I always tell people my name is Jennifer when over the phone, or at a coffee shop because they’ll never understand me if I say “Jen” the first time. I totally agree that it makes me feel like I’m getting in trouble.

    Excellent post πŸ˜€

     
    • Jen

      February 17, 2012 at 8:57 am

      JOHN??? Lol! Oh dear. Now that really is inappropriate. Um hello? Do I sound like a John here??

      At least you have not been called Jelly. My friends got hold of the fact that I hated it and now call me it whenever they please. That’s the trouble with airing your fears…

      Thanks for the like!! πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
