RSS

Who do the voodoo like Cyndi do?

17 Feb

Two things have become very clear to me since I started my blog.

  1. I’m quite obviously obsessed with the 1980’s (I honestly did not realise this); and
  2. Cyndi Lauper is everywhere.

In my post about the Goonies, Cyndi was in my head singing “its good enough, its good enough for me oh why eye eye eye eeeeyyyeeee.” When I wrote about Girls Just Wanna… again, there was Cyndi. And then this morning I woke up with an intense need to watch another 1980’s piece of cinema – Vibes, starring the one and only, Cyndi.

Seriously only watch this film if you're a huge Cyndi fan

Oh Cyndi darling, is this some crazy voodoo spell you’ve put on me? Were you some sleeper cell, giving me subliminal messages via 80’s pop music over 20 years ago? So that one day I’d wake up, watch all of your films and even quite possibly purchase your greatest hits on iTunes? (I did just do this BTW).

I honestly think she is pretty awesome. She was bucking the trends way back then. I couldn’t be bothered likening her to some of today’s artists because well, I don’t feel the need to prove anything.

I love the funny little squinty thing she does with her eyes. So there you go, Cyndi, it seems your plan has worked and worked well.

PS Your song True Colours still makes me cry. Peace out C-Girl.

I'm not sure if Cyndi needs glasses but I think its endearing.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Tune In...

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Who do the voodoo like Cyndi do?

  1. Richard

    February 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Yeah you see Vibes kicks arse!!! Jeff goldblum is another endearing character. 80’s is rad!!!

     
    • Jen

      February 18, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Its super rad! 🙂

       
  2. Jen and Tonic

    February 18, 2012 at 7:48 am

    YES! What is it about True Colors that is so emotional?!

     
    • Jen

      February 18, 2012 at 10:09 am

      I have no idea! But Cyndi knows how to make you feel it. Just don’t listen to it after you’ve had a cocktail…you’ll be a blubbering mess.

       
  3. Viciously Sweet

    February 18, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    After reading this I want to go watch “Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion” to see them dance to “Time After Time”…

     
    • Jen

      February 19, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Oh now I want to watch Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion…(better write that on a post it note to do later)

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        February 21, 2012 at 5:50 am

        My coworkers tease me because I actually write post-it notes and stick it to my phone, so I can embarrass myself into remembering. True Story.

         

Leave a Reply

 
