RSS

Its Blackberry Hunting Season.

19 Feb

Today is Sunday.

When I woke up this morning, I opened the door and the air smelled impossibly sweet. Its times like that which make me wonder if I’ve ever really smelt the air before. And if I did, I’m sure it never smelt that good. It made me believe I could achieve anything.

Fast forward 5 hours and husband and I are lying on the couch in a boredom coma. So much for impossibly sweet-smelling high-achieving air! So we headed out to a friend’s place to pick blackberries for my jam. Now…here’s the lowdown on blackberry picking. Do not attempt if you are afraid of the following:-

  • Getting cut, scratched or embedded with prickles;
  • Spiders;
  • Long grass;
  • Long grass with the possibility of running into a snake;
  • Flying blackberries (Dan); and
  • Stained fingers.

If not, then you’re good to go.

Now everyone has their own jam recipe. This is my fourth attempt at jam making and each time my recipe has been different. It also depends on the fruit your using. And as some of my friends and I will be entering our jams in an upcoming show, I can’t give too many secrets away. But, I try to stick to natural ingredients (no sugar setting or artificial pectin), I use lemon pips in muslin, skim the scum as it rises during the cooking process and use the best quality fruit you can find (or buy).

If you really would like a recipe, email me and I’ll send you one.

In the end, it took us about an hour to pick 2.5kg of fruit. And then maybe a lazy hour of making the jam. I find skimming the scum very therapeutic.

My favourite part…putting little material hats on the jars at the end. They look too cute. Oh, and the eating the jam bit. Once you’ve made your own, the store-bought stuff just doesn’t cut it. If you’ve ever wanted to try making your own, give it a go. Its heaps easier than you think and your tummy will thank you for it!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Its Blackberry Hunting Season.

  1. Vanessa Chapman

    February 19, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    I’m 41 and I’ve never made jam, how terrible is that! I’ve always been scared of making it. I remember as a kid my grandmother used to make it and one time something went wrong and when she took the cover off one jar it was covered in mould on the top which freaked me out a bit, so I guess that’s what has put me off making it. I always have lots of blackberries growing down the side of my house, and I always think I should make jam out of them. Maybe this year I will…

     
    • Jen

      February 19, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      I don’t think its terrible at all that you haven’t made jam! 🙂 I only started last Christmas but now I’m hooked. If you have your own fruit to use, even better. If you’d like, I can send you a recipe that I have used and both times its worked like magic. (I just checked my jars and the jam is setting beautifully). Mmmmmm, my toast in the morning is going to be fantastico!

      And thanks for taking the time to comment!

       
      • Vanessa Chapman

        February 19, 2012 at 9:41 pm

        Hey, thanks I would love your recipe – I don’t think I live anywhere near you so won’t be in competition with you for the show 😉 I think you probably have my email address from the notification you received about me commenting on your blog? If not I’ll email you separately. I saw you came over and commented on one of my blogs, so thanks for that too!

         
  2. Jen and Tonic

    February 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    I just made jam for the first time last year, and was QUITE impressed with myself. I was like, “Yeah, look at me. I’m a pioneer woman!!”

    I love the term “material hat” for that little piece of cloth that goes on the jar. I’m going to have to use it 😀

     
    • Jen

      February 20, 2012 at 4:01 pm

      LOL! I’m impressed! Not just with the fact you made jam…but that you named yourself pioneer woman. Hells yes. (Just don’t start wearing animal skins on your head…maybe one step too far).

      It seems us Jens are quite the talented prairie cooks…

       
      • Jen and Tonic

        February 20, 2012 at 5:40 pm

        Yeah, I think “pioneer woman” was a bit of an overshoot because I’m pretty sure it was only a week or so after that I killed my herb garden. Who kills an herb garden?

         
      • Jen

        February 20, 2012 at 5:51 pm

        OMG. Me. Lol, I have killed a cactus. I think it’s only because I love them so much, I take too much care with them. But killing with love is still killing.

         
  3. Viciously Sweet

    February 23, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Sweet Unruly Goblins! (That is a weird expression that I have never used before but came out when I read this post)
    Were there really snakes in the grass?
    And Really cute jam hat!

     
    • Jen

      February 23, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Ha!! I see that expression catching on fo’ shiz!

      Snakes? Lizards? Who knows. But they both give me the creeps.

      I hope my jam pots appreciate their designer hats. Who wouldn’t like a floppy aubergine hat?

       

Leave a Reply

 
