RSS

It’s alive! Weird Science that is.

22 Feb

Continuing on with my nostalgic trip down 80’s pop culture lane, this week I bring you – Weird Science (1985).

If you can get past the fact that two adolescent boys actually create a ‘perfect’ woman from a Barbie doll and magazine pictures fed into a computer (how do you even feed a computer?) then you’ll be fine. If you can’t, then don’t bother watching this film.

This was the time when seemingly implausible plots were the norm. And they didn’t feel the need to provide an explaination in any way. Something which I quite like. Of course its perfectly normal that two geeks create a woman with super human powers and a rockin’ body from nothing but a bit of plastic and a seriously underwhelming computer (I guess they did hack into a government mainframe for extra power).

Its stars Anthony Michael Hall as Gary Wallace. Michael Hall also starred in Sixteen Candles and The Breakfast Club (Breakfast Club yes please, Sixteen Candles not so much).

The perfect woman they create is played by Kelly LeBrock (model/actress). I guess she certainly looks the part. I mean, get a load of those lips people….and this was before Botox.

So why do I like this movie? If you’re waiting for an amazing insight….you’re probably reading the wrong blog. I’ll only ever disappoint you. I like this movie because I watched it at a time in my life which was all about fun. And this movie is fun. I’m pretty sure I also had a crush on Michael Hall, probably cause he was the weird one. I did watch him several years ago in The Dead Zone as a real life grown up man, and yes, this time the crush was real.

If you’re looking for a bit of escapism and fun, why not give this movie a go? What have you got to lose besides 94 minutes of your life?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Tune In...

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “It’s alive! Weird Science that is.

  1. speaker7

    February 22, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    I loved that movie. I loved Chet. I have a problem.

     
    • Jen

      February 22, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      LOL….good to see a fellow enthusiast! Oh geez…Chet? What about when he turns into that disgusting creature. Mmmmmm, yummy.

       
  2. Marc

    February 22, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    you may enjoy an article i wrote on John Hughes

     
  3. Viciously Sweet

    February 23, 2012 at 9:08 am

    I loved when they were wearing bras on their heads! Those were some really weird teenagers actually.

     
    • Jen

      February 23, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Oh yep, uh huh. Weird alright. But weren’t we all? Welllll, maybe not that weird. 🙂

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        February 23, 2012 at 9:36 am

        Yeah, I have never tried to print a person from my computer!

         
  4. Jen and Tonic

    February 25, 2012 at 10:08 am

    I wanted to be Kelly LeBrock SO BADLY. I thought she was the definition of womanly. Now I look back and I think, “WTF is up with that hair?” It was the 80’s though 😉

     
    • Jen

      February 25, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Ahahaaa….I know. She had that British accent and was all so casually cool with her big lips. And big hair. But I guess the 80’s was the era of excess.

      What will the 00’s be known for I wonder?

       
      • Jen and Tonic

        February 25, 2012 at 11:24 am

        Frosted tips for men, for sure.

         

Leave a Reply

 
