RSS

And…what about me Rachel?

23 Feb

I generally had a pretty good time at high school.

Of course there are always always the embarrassing stories, this IS me we’re talking about. Like the time it was raining and I ran out of class to save a seat for all my peeps under the awning. And as I came around the corner I tripped on some plastic webbing, did a huge army roll (I wish it was that coordinated) and came crashing down in a crumpled heap. If that wasn’t bad enough, it was all played out in front of the ‘cool’ guys. Die. Amidst the laughing, I picked myself up, dusted the gravel from my knees (yes my pants had torn) and lamely limped over to claim my seat. Meh? It was all forgotten the next day.

So besides having the occasional disagreement with my feet (they always went in a different direction to what my brain was telling them), and saying mildly inappropriate things in public forums, I managed to be friends with pretty much everyone.

But its funny how we see ourselves back then to how others may have seen us. Take this for example. Its 8th Grade…English. Back in those days we sat at desks joined together to make a big U shape. I was at the end of a long table of girls. One of the more popular girls, Rachel (yes I remember you Rachel), sat staring at us with a bemused look on her face. Oh this was going to be good.

Rachel: “It’s funny isn’t it?” She announced loudly.

Me: “What is Rachel?”

Rachel: “Well, I’m just looking at all of you and everyone is like, beautiful in their own way aren’t they?”

What? Could this be a public compliment from Miss Rachel?

Me: “What do you mean?”

Rachel: “Well, Megan has a beautiful smile. Natalie has beautiful eyes. Kristy has beautiful hair….” she sounded off down the line for each of the girls.

She stopped when she reached me.

Me: “And….what about me Rachel?”

Silence. Paused for thought.

Rachel: “Well….you’re really funny Jen.”

Back then I felt wounded and embarrassed that I was the only one who wasn’t recognised for having beautiful physical feature. I was just considered funny. But now I’m actually grateful to Rachel. Besides her recognising a trait in me I adore in other people, she gave me excellent material for this post.

So thanks Rach…you have a beautiful way of giving backhanded compliments.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “And…what about me Rachel?

  1. Viciously Sweet

    February 24, 2012 at 6:56 am

    I remember at the time I used to think those kind of back handed compliments were the worst! But when you look back at them while currently awesome (which you are) they make hilarious anecdotes!
    The “Rachel” I went to school with, works at our old high school… it must be so fun for her.

     
    • Jen

      February 24, 2012 at 9:20 am

      Good to know I’m not alone!

      Several years later, Rachel ending up living in the same city as me. I remember hiding behind a potplant in a shopping centre just to avoid her.

      Now, I’d jump over a potplant to say hi. Oh how times have changed. 🙂

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        February 24, 2012 at 11:30 am

        I fell into a potted plant to avoid talking to someone from high school about 2 years ago… it was worth it!

         
      • Jen

        February 24, 2012 at 11:31 am

        Oh twinnie. You’re fantastic.

         
  2. Jen and Tonic

    February 24, 2012 at 11:15 am

    AH! Slap you with one side of the hand, and then slap you with the other. What a jerkface!

    You’re beautiful now, both physically and in your demeanor. Rachel probably married a guy named Rick who drove a Camaro, and left her for her best friend. YOU WIN.

     
    • Jen

      February 24, 2012 at 11:30 am

      Ahahaha!!! Jen, this made my day. You’re awesome.

      Unfortunately I think Rachel is still a winner. I Facebook stalked her once. But I don’t care.

      🙂

       
  3. findingravity

    February 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    HAHA ah, this is wonderful. I was so awkward in middle school, and I remember a few times where I was made fun of. I wish I could say that I was above waiting for the day that I can attend my high school reunion, only to see that those kids are all balding, unsuccessful, and obese, but I’ve definitely thought about how funny that would be.

     

Leave a Reply

 
