RSS

Cocktail of the Week – Mojito

24 Feb

Ok kids…its Friday.

The sun kissed our cheeks for the first time in weeks...

And what do we do on Fridays? Well I’ve been giving you cocktail recipes to try over the weekend. However this week has been mega busy and I simply haven’t had time to try any new ones out.

This afternoon the sun was shining its glorious magic. So my girls and I decided to have cocktails on the front lawn of the very grand old Carrington Hotel. Perfect mountain afternoons are hard to come by so I couldn’t think of any other way to spend it.

So, here is a picture of me, enjoying the sunshine and my mojito.

There are a thousand recipes out there for mojitos…but basically its lime, vodka, mint and soda water. And some sugar syrup. It helps if the barman is impossibly cute and loves to ham it up while shaking your mojito furiously.

Enjoy!

Mmmm mmmm, mojito madness.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in In the Liquor Cabinet

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Cocktail of the Week – Mojito

  1. Jen and Tonic

    February 25, 2012 at 9:52 am

    How CUTE are you with your cocktail? I feel like a mojito is the perfect spring/summer drink. It makes me feel all light and airy and va-va-voom.

     
    • Jen

      February 25, 2012 at 11:20 am

      Aww, thank you!! I agree with the light and airy feel…I wanted to kick it all afternoon. But I didn’t, I came home and ate terrible takeaway and fell asleep in front of the tv. Tragic.

      PS Is it winter over there?

       
      • Jen and Tonic

        February 25, 2012 at 11:25 am

        Yeah, we’re working our way into Spring right now. A few more weeks and we’ll have that Mojito-ness in the air.

         
  2. Viciously Sweet

    February 25, 2012 at 10:40 am

    You are looking so fancy fresh with that mojito Jen! You should tell your friends you are going to pursue a career as a drink model, and live the life of a luxury beverage consultant!
    I think I need a break from my work… I’m beginning to babble. I think I could use a mojito…

     
    • Jen

      February 25, 2012 at 11:24 am

      LOL. Babe, you do need a mojito!! I shall NEVER be known as any type of model, let alone a drink model. Unless, I get everyone plastered first that is.

       
  3. Katie

    February 25, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I love mojito’s! they are my all time favourite coctail. I’m making punch today for Mel and Tiran’s 70’s fondue party… mmm yum

     
    • Jen

      February 25, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      LOL…that sounds fab Katie! Is it your mum’s pineapple punch? I have had a little experiment with that which I plan on telling you about later. xx

       
  4. Just Rambling

    February 26, 2012 at 5:35 am

    Seriously, I had my first Mojito in Spain!! It tasted GREAT! It was sooooooooo good, seriously! I didn’t even taste the alcohol, which is very dangerous, of course… but oh my gosh! I LOVED it!

     
  5. Katie

    February 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    No my plant isnt big enough to start picking from yet. Instead I used pinapple juice mixed with mint, lime, a dash of ginger beer and a few other goodies. It was gooooooodd!!! Why did punch ever come out of fashion?? It’s like a massive bowl of delicious cocktail. And you dont need to be fiddling in the kitchen all night creating masterpieces. I might try a mojito inspired punch sometime.
    Oh and as for the fondue…. Amazing!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
