RSS

Pump Up the Jam (Drop)

27 Feb

Just a quick one today. I feel a sudden lack of postal inspiration. I’m not sure if my unfocused ramblings are really the way to go. But maybe they are….and here I am, debating it, with myself. Stop talking now Jen.

On Sunday I was scheduled to do my second round of summer photography sessions. But it was raining. I don’t like to curse the rain because Australia suffered a horrendous drought a few years back and we were begging for it. In saying that, we’ve had devastating floods the last year or so too. It seems we can never find a happy balance. Anyway…getting off track much?

The sessions were cancelled which meant a free afternoon for me! Yay! I put a stew on to cook which would bubble away for the next several hours. I made a whole bunch of cards to send to people (just because) and I decided to make jam drops using my homemade jam.

So here is the recipe which is super easy and the result is somewhere between a melting moment biscuit and a jam donut. I had to beat my husband away with a stick to save them from being eaten in one go so I guess they were ok.

JAM DROPS

  • 125g butter, softened
  • 100g (1/2 cup) caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 egg
  • 190g (1 1/4 cups) self-raising flour
  • Plain flour, to dust
  • Small amount of any firm set jam (if you use a runny jam it will bleed all over your biscuit. Ewww)
  1. Preheat oven to 180°C (170°C fan). Line 2 baking trays with non-stick baking paper. Use an electric beater to beat the butter, sugar and vanilla essence in a medium bowl until pale and creamy. Add the egg and beat until combined. Sift flour over the butter mixture and stir until combined.
  2. Use lightly floured hands to roll teaspoonfuls of mixture into balls. Place on the prepared trays, about 5cm apart. Use a lightly floured finger to make an indentation in the centre of each ball. Spoon 1/2 tsp of jam into the centre of each biscuit.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, swapping trays halfway through cooking, or until the biscuits are cooked through and light golden. Remove biscuits from the oven. Set aside on trays for 30 minutes to cool completely.

Excuse the grainy picture but like I said, I used one hand to beat back the hoards and the other to take a quick snap with my iPhone. Life in a bakers kitchen can be brutal friends.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Pump Up the Jam (Drop)

  1. Jen and Tonic

    February 27, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    WOW! Those look delicious. I’m usually not a fan of cookies with jam because the centers never look appetizing, but these look delicious!!

     
    • Jen

      February 28, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Thanks Jen! I believe the humble jam drop has been overlooked for years. If it was good enough for my nanna, its good enough for me.

      Wish there was some way I could hook you up with some… 🙂

       
  2. Viciously Sweet

    February 28, 2012 at 4:29 am

    It’s raining in LA today too (and I am also wary of cursing the rain, as we burn frequently).
    I do wish I had your cookies though, because they look all sorts of delicious.

     
    • Jen

      February 28, 2012 at 9:03 am

      Lol…all sorts of delicious is right! Like I said to Jen, wish I could hook you up with a few cookies.

      We are about to experience 2 days of torrential rains. Flood warnings etc etc. Instead of baking cookies, maybe I should be working on a wooden boat?

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        February 28, 2012 at 9:52 am

        Hopefully the rains aren’t devastating. Maybe you should make a cookie boat!

         
      • Jen

        February 28, 2012 at 10:10 am

        Yes!!!! And then it acts as both water transportation and a food source. I can’t see any downfall to that at all! 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
