RSS

My Top 6 ‘Granny Things’ You Should Try Before You Become One

29 Feb

I just alienated half of my readers with this blog title. All you dudes out there are saying ‘yawn, boring’. Sorry guys…I encourage you to try as many granny things as possible too. You never know, you might love it.

My beautiful Snoopy's Nanna

  1. Get up really early on the weekend, make yourself some tea and toast and watch an english murder mystery in your pyjamas.
  2. Sew your own quilt. It doesn’t have to be fancy. But cutting up material into shapes, then sewing those shapes back together to make a different one is VERY satisfying. Addictive even.
  3. Sit out the front of your house/apartment in the afternoon, when the weather starts to turn with a rug (or your homemade quilt) on your knees and watch the world go by.
  4. Make your own jam. (I’ve covered this in Its Blackberry Hunting Season).
  5. Try to crochet something. It’s a lot easier than I was ever led to believe. And if you come across an article saying this – “Be creative, become a hooker! Beginners welcome!”, you start to believe those crazy crocheters have a wicked sense of humour.
  6. Grow something. (I really haven’t mastered this one. I even kill cacti).

If you’re lucky enough to have any of your grandparents still alive, you might want to hang out with them and pick up some other awesome tips. Unfortunately I don’t have that luxury. But I do remember my grandmothers to be hell raising women with many interests and talents. They are an inspiration to me. And I think their legacy lives on through me. This one’s for you nannas! Love love.

The adorable Nikki's Nanna

Note: When my brothers and I were little, we didn’t know how to tell our grandmothers apart. The easiest way we could come up with was to name them after their dogs.  One had a dog called Nikki and the other had a dog called Snoopy. Nikki’s Nanna and Snoopy’s Nanna. I’m sorry nannas….I realise now how silly this must have sounded.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in Holly Hobby

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “My Top 6 ‘Granny Things’ You Should Try Before You Become One

  1. Ella V

    February 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Your grannies photos are wonderful

     
    • Jen

      February 29, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      Thank you!!! I think they were gorgeous women with a lot of feisty spirit. 🙂

       
  2. Norma

    February 29, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Your grandmothers would be so proud of their beautiful and talented grand daughter, their legacy lives on in you undoubtedly. Such a sadness they are not here to see for themselves.

     
    • Jen

      March 1, 2012 at 7:40 am

      Thanks mum. 🙂 You’re one of those hell-raisers too you know? But I tell you that all the time.

       
  3. Viciously Sweet

    March 1, 2012 at 4:21 am

    Great Advice, all of which I need to do! I will get started post haste and call it “grandma time” I think this could be really great, and in all honesty I have a blanket on my legs right now…. as I stare into the computer with a banana bread muffin…
    P to the S: You have some really snazzy grandmas!

     
    • Jen

      March 1, 2012 at 7:43 am

      YES!! Grandma time! I love it. Mmmmm, banana bread muffin….:)

      Blankets on knees are highly underrated! I use one most nights. Not because its that cold but because its comforting and squishy. (Thanks, I think my nanna’s rocked.)

       
  4. sweatlikemambo

    March 1, 2012 at 6:17 am

    Yay, I love this post!! Especially #1 and #2… I think we all have an inner secret granny just waiting to come out! 🙂

     
    • Jen

      March 1, 2012 at 7:44 am

      Thank you!!! I think we all do have an inner granny…those who say they don’t are just kidding themselves. 🙂

       
  5. Jen and Tonic

    March 1, 2012 at 10:13 am

    #2 and #5 are REALLY high on my list. I just signed up for a jewelry making class, but once that’s done I think I’ll take a sewing class just to learn the basics.

    Have you read the book “How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew”? It gives tons of great examples of things like this that we should learn.

    Link to page on USA Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/How-Sew-Button-Things-Grandmother/dp/0345518756

     
  6. Jen

    March 1, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Yay!! I’m glad you’re going to try it. I signed up for a term of quilt classes and became addicted. I’ve made about 7 now but give most of them away. I have 5 baby ones to make for impending baby season. I need time people….lots and lots of time!

    My girlfriend got me hooked (boom ching) on crocheting. All I do though is go around and around in a big circle. I aim to make a rug. Anyway, its very relaxing. Especially around a campfire.

    That book looks fantastic! I’m putting it on my wish list! Thanks twinnie! x

     
  7. Katie

    March 13, 2012 at 6:34 am

    well ive done #2 qnd #4… now onto the rest

     

Leave a Reply

 
