RSS

Sweet Mother of Vegemite

29 Feb

Three things can be said of my morning breakfast rituals.

  1. I’m mad for toast.
  2. I now eat my toast in front of the computer while I do blog type thingy’s.
  3. Most days my toast is slathered with a thick layer of Vegemite.

I’m not sure how much my international buddies know about Vegemite so here’s the 411 courtesy of Wikipedia.

Vegemite  is a dark brown Australian food paste made from yeast extract. It is a spread for sandwiches, toast, crumpets and cracker biscuits, and filling for pastries. It is similar to British, New Zealand and South African Marmite, Australian Promite and Swiss Cenovis.

What Wikipedia doesn’t tell you is that Aussie kids are pretty much fed the stuff from birth. Its put on soft white bread for babies to suck on prior to acquiring fangs. By the time you’re a 32 year old woman, you have developed a serious addiction.

There are two types of Vegemite eaters:-

  1. The slight scrape of just the tiniest amount over your toast.
  2. The heavy slather of rich dark brown salty goodness.

I am the latter. I’m also a salt weirdo. I love salt in all its saltiness. Don’t ask me to make you Vegemite toast if you don’t love it as much as I do.

This morning was very exciting for me as I got to open my 1kg pail of Vegemite. I was so excited thinking about how much I loved it that I grabbed the toaster to move it and put my fingers inside the piping hot bread receptacles. I have tiny little blisters on them now. Oh well.  And so I end my story with a haiku.

Vegemite my love

Vitamin B delicious

Give me that good stuff

I luuuurrrve you.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Sweet Mother of Vegemite

  1. Denny

    February 29, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    Marmite is better! (So now you know I’m a kiwi) But marmite is out of stock in NZ! Such a calamity is this that it made national news … across all media … for more than a few days … And no, vegemite is no substitute, which you would appreciate because I know you’d rather suffer withdrawal than eat m******

    Love the haiku though

     
    • Jen

      February 29, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      Denny let me just say I’m not adverse to Marmite! Its sweeter though right? I love that the Marmite shortage has made national news!! And so it should. Breakfast condiments are serious business!!

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

       
  2. charlierobinson

    February 29, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    im a vegemite toast for breaky gal from way back 🙂 xc

     
  3. charlierobinson

    February 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Reblogged this on CharlieRobinson Says and commented:
    I’m a vegemite toast gal from way back… what’s your own favourite?

     
  4. Jen and Tonic

    February 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Oh man, I finally found our one difference! Someone once put this on bread and told me it was nutella. I took a huge bite and nearly gagged! I think it may be an acquired taste 😉

     
    • Jen

      February 29, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      How utterly cruel! Seriously. It is true…Aussies are introduced early before our taste buds have time to develop a dislike for it.

      I think if we’re going to have any differences, this one is the most acceptable. 🙂

       
  5. Viciously Sweet

    March 1, 2012 at 4:42 am

    I’ve never had Vegemite! But I do like toasted everything! I also like to eat burnt tortillas with butter, I think that is an acquired taste too…

     
    • Jen

      March 1, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Burnt tortiallas with butter? How do you burn them? I’m having visions of yellowy butter swirling in between the charred bubbles of the tortilla. It actually sounds alright to me.

      I advise you to try Vegemite with caution. Just a tiny bit first to see if you like it. 🙂

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        March 1, 2012 at 6:04 pm

        Well you burn the tortilla till it’s got a good amount of burnt on itself and then you take a dab of butter put it on and roll it like a burrito. It’s beyond not healthy, but its good for those days you feel crumby!

        And yes I will be cautious of the mite! Do you ever call it “the mite”?

         
      • Jen

        March 1, 2012 at 8:31 pm

        Ha! I shall forever call it ‘the mite’ from now on! I love that! x

         

Leave a Reply

 
