RSS

When all else fails, turn off the light.

06 Mar

You know the feeling of arriving home from work utterly exhausted in mind, body and soul? Oh me too. Absolutely.

Tonight I arrived home like that. After the best hug in the world…I retreated for some ‘me’ time. I want to tell you about the Express Relaxation Bath. But first…let me tell you why I don’t do the traditional bath.

  1. It takes too long to fill up;
  2. I feel bad for using all that water;
  3. I usually run it too hot and then have to inch myself in over a period of several minutes as my body gets used to the heat;
  4. Once I’m in there, I get bored;
  5. I don’t like the idea of sitting in a pool of my own dead skin cells and filth;
  6. I get pruney;
  7. My face goes beetroot red; and
  8. I look at all the imperfections of my body and mentally sign up to rigorous exercise routines.

I know many of you will be avid bath users…so I’m not totally anti bath. I would happily bath with someone else as they’d keep me entertained. And I also like the look of a bath. It’s just not my first choice in terms of water and relaxation.

Bath V Shower? Give me this bad boy any day...

So that brings me to the Express Relaxation Bath….aka The Shower! Yes, yes. I know the shower is that thing you do every morning and its utilitarian and serves a fast route for getting clean etc etc. BUT…when you take a shower for the sole purpose of relaxation I guarantee its a different story. Here are the simple key rules:

  1. Make sure you have time…there is no point doing it if you have to rush;
  2. Do NOT turn on the light. I’m certainly not advocating you shower in the absolute dark (safety first people, please). But the last thing that screams calm is a bright heat light. If you don’t have enough soft natural light, then add some candles;
  3. Put some music on. One of the best presents I ever got was a waterproof shower radio in the shape of a crab. Its long gone now but I was so fond of that crab;
  4. Do those things you don’t normally have time to. Like a full body scrub or a hair moisturising mask;
  5. Let the shower spray hit you in the face for as long as you can hold your breath. Imagine you’re under a waterfall; and lastly
  6. Write messages in the steam on the glass. I’ve left ‘I love you’ messages for the next person to use the shower. Yeah I know, its lame but sweet.

It’s never going to replace the traditional bath…for one you can’t read in there. Or even sip on a good glass of wine. But it washes away my blues like you wouldn’t believe. Maybe it will do the same for you?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “When all else fails, turn off the light.

  1. barelypoppins

    March 6, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Ah, yes, I had one of those showers tonight too. With lights dimmed and the water therapeutically hot. Must be the day for washing it all away.

     
  2. Lisa Summerlin

    March 7, 2012 at 5:49 am

    I really like this idea! I’m not fond of sitting in a tub either (it just grosses me out although I never allow myself to get THAT dirty, but still…just ick). I do believe I’ll give your shower idea a try. Thank you!

     
    • Jen

      March 7, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      I hope it provides the desired affect!! 🙂

       
  3. Viciously Sweet

    March 7, 2012 at 9:08 am

    How are we so similar! I ♥ a relaxing shower. Also, I usually make a horrible mess if I try to take a bath, and it is ever so boring!!

     
    • Jen

      March 7, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      I know right? Boredom City! Plus, I feel like the shower is actually relaxing and invigorating at the same time…something the humble bath cannot claim.

       
  4. Katie

    March 7, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    This is great… I actually love taking a cold beer to the shower with me. I used to pop it on the window sil at my old house. It was perfect on a hot Friday arvo when I was in a rush to get to the pub but really needed a drink. Haha! I can’t do it in this house, note to self: store a drink holder in shower when upgrade bathroom.

     
    • Jen

      March 7, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      Oh KT…a dedicated beer shelf? How absolutely stella! I’m also on the hunt for a new crab shower radio. Holla if you find one!

       
  5. Nikinoonaa

    March 18, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Siste, of course you can drink in the shower!

     

Leave a Reply

 
