RSS

Its a pirate pants kind of day.

17 Mar

Ahoy there m’hearties!! What the heck are pirate pants?

Well really they’re called Thai fisherman’s pants. But someone in this house (and as there is only two of us, you can guess who that is) has nicknamed them pirate pants instead. This morning I put them on and walked out to be greeted with “how ya goin’ pirate pants?”

So why is it a pirate pants kind of day? Well, as your becoming accustomed, here is the list…

  1. They are unbelievably comfortable. And today is Saturday and I don’t have to leave the house…for anything.
  2. They allow for a lot of aeration so they’re perfect for when its warm.
  3. It is warm! Today has a tropical feel about it. The temperature is beautiful, if not a little steamy, and its threatening to storm.
  4. They are one size fits all…so no matter if I’m having a fat day or thin day, they work.
  5. They’re easy to dance in. Yep, pirate pants allow for customary “clean up the kitchen” dancing.

In case you’re still scratching your head. Here is the real 411 on them. Thanks Wikipedia…

Thai fisherman pants are lightweight unisex trousers that are made very wide in the waist, one size fits all. The additional material is wrapped around the waist and tied to form a belt. They are usually made of cotton or rayon. Although traditionally used by fishermen in Thailand, they have become popular among others for casual, beach, and exercise wear as well as for backpackers and pregnancy.

An unexpected bonus from writing this post is that I found a pattern to make my own pirate pants! Stay tuned for that friends.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2012 in Holly Hobby

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Its a pirate pants kind of day.

  1. Jen and Tonic

    March 17, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    God, those look so awesomely comfortable.

    The next time someone calls you a pirate, tell this them joke: “What is a pirate’s favorite letter? Most people think it’s ARRRRRR, but it’s really the SEA.”

    I need a life….

     
    • Jen

      March 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm

      I love that joke! I told it to the person who calls me a pirate and I’m positive he liked it too. Lol. And hello? Telling corny pirate jokes IS a life! 🙂

       
  2. Baker Bettie

    March 17, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I NEED SOME OF THOSE! Those look like they would be great baking pants! I get soo hot running around the kitchen and normal pants feel so binding… especially after eating half the cookie dough…

     
    • Jen

      March 17, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      Oh these are PERFECT baking pants! I have worn them for that very purpose. And I completely agree with eating the cookie dough thing. But don’t you just adore raw cookie dough?

       
  3. Viciously Sweet

    March 17, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    Those pants look like sheer comfort wrapped in extra comfort… I have a feeling I would not put them on properly and I would end up showing the world my arrrrrrrrse… 🙂

     
    • Jen

      March 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Lol…nice pirate joke. 😉
      They are sheer comfort. I does take a little practice to get them on properly though, I must admit. And I probably wouldn’t suggest wearing them if you had to frequent public restrooms. Once they’re undone and you let go….the fall straight to the ground.

       
  4. goodoldgirl

    March 19, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    They look suspiciously like mid-length culottes! I guess you gotta be as old as me to know what those are, though. 🙂

     
    • Jen

      March 19, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      Oh! I have my own pair of full length culottes! They are also comfort personified!! Lol. The fishermans pants don’t really have a waist…and most of them have a very baggy crotch. Not as flattering as culottes I have to say. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
