RSS

Meal Time Yahtzee

02 Apr

One of the best things about being a grown up human person with no dependant responsibilities is that normal meal time conventions do not exist.

Yesterday was Sunday, which is fast becoming my favourite day of the week. Sunday in and of itself seems to have little to no rules about it. I love that. So what happened yesterday that was so different to every other day? Well it goes something like this…

  • Had a fantastical sleep in due to daylight saving finishing…clocks went back an hour.
  • Received cup of tea in bed whilst I watched breakfast television – Andrew O’Keefe, you’re outrageous!
  • Husband cooked scrambled eggs with chorizo sausage on toast for breakfast.
  • Mum dropped in with homemade pecan pie. Stayed for coffee.
  • Decided to eat Grain Wave chips for lunch and wrote a blog post.
  • Big storm arrived at 3pm by which time I was hungry again – ate a chicken and salad sandwich in my beanbag accompanied by a glass of white wine and read the new Donna Hay magazine.
  • Watched a movie with husband as the rain continued to hammer down.
  • At 7pm we ate pecan pie for dinner with vanilla ice-cream.
  • By 8.30pm I was feeling peckish so we had tea and toast for supper.

I adored that all the usual meal times were put in a bag, shaken up furiously and then pulled out at random. It wasn’t probably the most nutritious day in terms of meals but meh, it was fun. So why not roll the dice on your next meal time?

Late night supper - tea and toast with vegemite!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Meal Time Yahtzee

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart

    April 2, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I’m a fan of breakfast-for-dinner days myself. Something about eating pancakes late at night makes them seem much more delicious. And pie and ice cream sounds like a fabulous dinner. I may have to try that some night…

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 9:48 am

      Oooh, yeah! Pancakes for dinner…you’ve just given me ideas! 🙂

       
  2. daffodils & dishwater

    April 2, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Pecan pie and ice cream is a supreme meal at any time of the day!

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 9:49 am

      Thanks! I totally agree. Especially as it was a surprise delivery pie. It doesn’t get any better than that!

       
  3. Jen and Tonic

    April 2, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Vegemite? NOOOOOOO. My American sensibilities will have none of it!!! 😉

    Sounds like you had quite the amazing day. Lucky, lucky girl. I managed to go the whole day without spilling on myself. That earns this Sunday an award!

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      Haven’t we had this discussion about vegemite young lady? You’re just going to have to deal with the thick yeasty paste of it all!!!

      LOL!!!!! You’re a habitual spiller too? Once I wore a top that had a big scoop neck on it. I ate tuna for lunch and then a cute guy came into work and needed help to move a desk. He was looking at me with curious eyes…which I thought was a sign he was into me. It wasn’t until he left that I found a little pocket of tuna resting in my scoop neck. Lets just say, that tuna was there a while before I discovered it.

       
  4. Nikinoonaa

    April 2, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Mmmm nice Sunday sleep-in followed by the realization that the 6 & 4 yr olds had got themselves breakfast while I was sleeping… Cue spilt milk and crunchy rice bubble floor. Points for trying kids

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      Sleep in cancels out mess surely??

       
  5. John the Aussie

    April 2, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    MMMM Vegemite.

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      LOL YES!!! At last, a fellow vegemite lover!

       
      • John the Aussie

        April 2, 2012 at 10:03 pm

        I’m Aussie, it’s bred into me…

         
  6. viveka

    April 2, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    For me… you had a very pleasant day, an enjoyable – just doing what you needed and wanted. A day without MUST! Good on you and your family.

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      I love that – “a day without must”. I wish we all got more of them. 🙂

       
      • viveka

        April 2, 2012 at 7:23 pm

        Jen, we should just take them!!!

         
      • Jen

        April 2, 2012 at 7:27 pm

        Agreed!!! More for everyone!!

         
  7. barelypoppins

    April 3, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    I’m a big fan of dinner for breakfast. Be it leftovers, leftovers on toast, or a savoury something with leftovers for lunch. And finish the day with jam on toast. Perfect.

     

Leave a Reply

 
