RSS

Easter Cinnamon Buns

05 Apr

Easter is approaching! My first thought is yay….hot cross buns!! Until I remember I’m deathly opposed to the sultana, my arch-enemy. I love a hot cross bun, all that soft, pillowy, spicy goodness laden with butter. But then I’ll bite into a sultana and feel my sunny world come crashing down. Why dried fruit? Whyyyy?

It also reminds me of the great Christmas Pudding Dilemma of 1992. Christmas pudding…a festive dessert tradition in these parts – I cannot stand it! Not only does it contain the despicable sultana, it is laden with many other dried fruit relatives. Necessity is the mother invention as they say, and my mother was forced into inventing our version of the Christmas Pudding….an ice-cream pudding (in the shape of a traditional pudding) laden with bite sized pieces of chocolate bars and marshmallows, drizzled chocolate on top to resemble custard. She even put a little holly sprig on it. Needless to say it was an instant hit in our house and lived on through many more Christmas’.

So fed up with missing out on a traditional hot cross bun (yeah, I know they come without sultanas and even with choc chips instead of sultanas, but they are just not the same) I decided to create my own hybrid version of the hot cross bun and mix it with a cinnamon roll. I know I know….its way exciting isn’t it?

Here we go!

MY CROWDED BUNS - HEY, MAKE SOME ROOM WILL YA?

Easter Cinnamon Buns

Dough:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 cups plain flour
  • 4 tbsp cornflour
  • 7g (2tsp) dry yeast
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 5 tbsp very soft butter

Filling:

  • 220g brown sugar
  • 2.5 tbsp cinnamon (I actually used 2 tbs mixed spice which has cinnamon anyway and then half a tbs extra of cinnamon)
  • 5tbsp very soft butter

Icing:

  • 125g very soft (almost melting) butter
  • 175g icing sugar
  • 4 tbsp cream cheese
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Method

  1. Heat cream and milk slowly until warm.
  2. Using a mixer with dough attachment I added all the dry ingredients, mixed then added the milk and cream mixture. Give it a stir to combine then add the eggs and butter. I then gave it a good 10 mins to work the dough.
  3. After 10 mins, oil a large bowl, put in dough, cover and rest 1 hr until doubled in size.
  4. Preheat oven to 200 degrees or 180 fan forced.
  5. Dust a large surface with flour and turn out dough. Roll out to form a large rectangle just less than 1cm thick.
  6. Combine dry filling ingredients in a bowl. Spread rectangle of dough with soft butter and then sprinkle with sugar and spices etc. Makes sure its thick!
  7. Roll up to form a sausage. Then cut slices off about 2cm thick…or to your preference.
  8. Place on lined baking tray.
  9. Cook for approx 10 mins or until light golden brown.
  10. While cooking, combine all icing ingredients in a bowl and mix well with a fork until combined.
  11. When rolls are done, cool for a few minutes then spread icing on so it melts.
  12. Eat with friends, enjoy with family, spread the love.

Just a couple of things I learnt from making these beauties.

  1. Unlike the traffic in New Delhi, they don’t like being crowded on the tray. Give them room to grow.
  2. If you don’t want monster size rolls, don’t cut such big sizes.
  3. DO NOT take off your apron before you’ve finished cooking, especially if you’re supposed to be leaving for a lunch date in 15 minutes.
  4. Don’t answer the phone while you’re trying to ice them. You will leave a sticky mess from one end of the house to the other.

Have a really super holiday people. Thanks for all the support so far this year! HAPPY EASTER!

My little beauties dripping with their golden cream cheese icing.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Easter Cinnamon Buns

  1. Jueseppi B.

    April 5, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Oh Lord…..Easter…..Food…..calories…….Somebody sew my mouth closed. Cinnamon Buns, me second type of buns!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you “The Modern Woman’s Society”.

     
    • Jen

      April 5, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Why thank you sir!!! Wish I could send one on over….they are spicy heaven with icing on top!!! Happy Easter!

       
      • Jueseppi B.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:07 pm

        Happy Easter Ms. Jen. Enjoy your Easter and enjoy your lucky family. Ciao Bella 😉

         
  2. Trapped in the Mirror

    April 5, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    Hot Cross Scrolls .. hmmm ! – I think the “Cross” on a HCB is meant to represent the Crucifixion.
    I can only assume that your interpretation means one of the following happened prior to Calvary:
    the big “J” popped into a Bakers Delight on his way up the hill / three days of waiting is a long time – someone wanted to play tic tac toe / one of the three Mary’s was on her way to a Star Wars Convention and as a good costume shop wasn’t that easy to find – substituted two for a Princess Leia wig ..

     
    • Jen

      April 5, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      I was obviously completely led by my stomach on this one…and missed out on any religious significance. I apologise if anyone has taken offence to my complete disregard for the true meaning of a sultana infested tea bun. 🙂 I do like your take on my cinnamon bun interpretation though. Happy Easter!

       
  3. Jen and Tonic

    April 5, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Hot cross buns always makes me think of that terrible song that every introductory music student has to play.

    Those look DIVINE!

     
    • Jen

      April 5, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      One a penny, two a penny! Oh thanks Jen, now I’m gonna have that stuck in my head all day! Happy Easter! 🙂

       
      • Trapped in the Mirror

        April 5, 2012 at 1:53 pm

        Even worse –
        imagine it being sung by a Play School presenter in a high pitch – to Big Ted and Jemimah ..

         
  4. viveka

    April 5, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    Can feel the smell through the screen – they look the business …Love Cinnamon buns, we do them too over here without icing. You, guys .. over there … have icing on everything *smile. Well done, because they really look good. And Happy Easter to you.

     
    • Jen

      April 5, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      Thank you!!! I’ve never eaten a cinnamon bun before, let alone make one! I was thinking the icing might be too much but its soooo not! I think it is just right. Happy Easter! 🙂

       
      • viveka

        April 5, 2012 at 6:41 pm

        They look .. stunning and I’m sure they will be great with the icing on – wouldn’t mind having one now with my coffee and I will gladly take one with icing. *smile

         

Leave a Reply

 
