RSS

Bang! Bang!

19 Apr

Hello blog world!

As some of you may have noticed, I have been decidedly absent over the past couple of weeks. Never fear…I didn’t suffer from a cinnamon bun overdose. Although it was pretty close there for a while. I’ve actually been suffering from another infliction…work related stress.

Stress is a word that gets bandied around a lot these days… But what happens when that stress starts affecting all areas of your life? Before checking out completely, I was in need of a serious ‘time out’. I was required to take several days off to achieve that time out and it was a long time coming. Here are some things I’ve discovered along the way:

  1. It’s entirely possible to spend a full day in your pyjamas sitting on the couch drinking cups of tea only to get up for bathroom breaks or to make more tea.
  2. Showers are NOT necessary.
  3. Watching hours of tv without really remembering any of it can be achieved quite easily.
  4. Devouring an Easter egg you found in the pantry in approximately 2.6 seconds only makes you feel better for approximately 2.6 seconds.
  5. Listening to the sound of rain on your roof is as good as a hug from your mum.
  6. It’s ok to admit you don’t have ALL the answers.
  7. Crying at the lotto ad where the dad pays off his pregnant daughters mortgage is completely appropriate….that baby shall want for nothing.
  8. Building up your DVD collection over the last several years was really just a pointless exercise because you don’t want to watch any of them, you’ve already seen them at least twice and they take up far too much room.
  9. Re-heated nachos are a completely legitimate lunchtime meal.
  10. Sometimes you need to stop talking to everyone in order to hear what you have to say.

I’m still trying to find that part of me that got lost along the way in between deadlines and pressure and keeping all my balls in the air. What I have realised is that it’s not a one-off deal. It’s a worthy exercise to do for yourself whenever you think you need it. I updated my Facebook status saying “I’m trying to remember what its like to march to the beat of my own drum…” A good friend of mine replied “Try listening less…” Good advice from the dear Mr A.

So here I sit…in the the still and quiet air, not listening for my drum but waiting for it to start beating none-the-less. Bang bang.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Bang! Bang!

  1. the curtain raiser

    April 19, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    I’m also waiting for my drummer (who got crushed by the wave of deadlines, disorganised (not on my part) urgency and demands) to start playing. One other thing I would add to your list is:

    cues from the universe come from the most unlikely of places and situations and taking time out is essential to not missing those cues.

    Loved your post.

     
    • Jen

      April 19, 2012 at 1:52 pm

      Thank you. Its easy to stop listening for the drummer right? I hear it though…slowly but surely. Thanks for reading…I hope you hear yours soon too. šŸ™‚

       
  2. viveka

    April 19, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    I think what you have done … with your time out – will help you with the Big Bang .. if it ever comes.
    Somebody told me a couple of years ago .. that to do nothing is always so to do something and it’s an art in it. Sometimes when asked what are you going to do this weekend and tell them I will spend it with somebody I really like _ myself.

     
    • Jen

      April 19, 2012 at 5:57 pm

      Wow…I hope it ends in a big bang. šŸ™‚

       
      • viveka

        April 19, 2012 at 6:12 pm

        Good for you !!!! Just bring it on.

         
  3. silentlyheardonce

    April 19, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Time outs are a wonderful thing especially if you do beging to hear what you are waiting to hear.

     
  4. Viciously Sweet

    April 20, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    We all get totally down to blah town sometimes. I’m hoping your inner drummer is playing a super spicy beat!

     
    • Jen

      April 20, 2012 at 2:00 pm

      LOL…Blah Town is right. My drummer is def getting louder and louder. Soon I may have to wear those little squidgy ear plug things. šŸ™‚

       
  5. Jen and Tonic

    April 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    I’m so happy you’re back!! I’m sorry to hear that you were under a lot of stress and pressure– I think so much is expected of us sometimes, and we feel obligated to take it all on.

    You have to make sure you get more “you” time, okay? We can’t have you disappearing like that!!!

    J&T

     
    • Jen

      April 23, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      When I get like that I go into cocoon town…and hybernate until I feel I can talk to the world again. There were a lot of zombie movies watched and I even got in on some Walking Dead tv series action. So at the end of the day, I said to myself Jen…at least your not a zombie. You don’t eat brains for breakfast and you can still string a sentence together. x

       

Leave a Reply

 
