RSS

It’s time for limes!

21 Apr

It’s lime season!!!

I always think its time for lime but right now, limes are particularly spectacular. Big, fat and juicy. And I’ve been buying up big on them because you don’t have to re-mortgage your house to get a few. So what does one do with a mountain of limes? Make a Key Lime Pie of course.

I’ve always wanted to try making a Key Lime Pie, just the sound of it makes me feel all “sitting in a cabana on the beach” like. Little did I know that the original recipe called for key limes…hence the name. But I guess they are native to Florida so the recipe has been adapted for regular garden variety limes…or persian limes.

What I didn’t figure upon trying this recipe is how easy it is. The story goes…that a reaction occurs between the lime juice and the condensed milk which actually cooks the filling or makes it thicken substantially. Although, you’re still required to cook it for a short time. I used 4 limes for this recipe but think that you could use more. It’s very sweet and I think it needs a bit more acidity from the lime juice. Although if you have a super sweet tooth, 4 limes might suit you. Here we go!

Key Lime Pie

Crust

  • 16 biscuits (I used Anzac biscuits because it’s nearly Anzac day…but any plain biscuit will do)
  • 125g melted butter
  • 45g caster sugar (I used this but I don’t think you really need to)

Filling

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 x 395g tin condensed milk
  • Juice of 4-5 limes
  • 200ml cream

Pre-heat your oven to 175c. Blitz up your biscuits and slowly add melted butter until it comes together.  Press into a 22cm (across the top) greased glass or ceramic pie dish and push up the sides. Bake in the oven for about 10 mins or until lightly brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly.

In a bowl add egg yolks and whisk a little. Then add condensed milk, cream and lime juice. Grate some lime zest in there too if you like. Whisk lightly until it all comes together. Pour into your pie crust and return to the oven for 15 mins.

Remove from oven, cool and then pop it into the fridge for a while. We had ours with cream but I didn’t think it needed it. If anything, I’d have mine with a big scoop of vanilla ice-cream.

I can tell when my guy likes something…he takes a bite and his eyes go big and round like saucers. This pie…got saucer eyes.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “It’s time for limes!

  1. viveka

    April 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    have never eaten – Key Lime Pie – something I have to look out for when I’m over in July.

     
    • Jen

      April 22, 2012 at 10:33 am

      Are you going to America or Australia?

       
      • viveka

        April 22, 2012 at 6:41 pm

        Going to US …. and Canada

         
      • Jen

        April 23, 2012 at 10:39 am

        Lucky lady.

         
  2. Brittany

    April 22, 2012 at 2:05 am

    Yesss bring on the spring time fruits!

     
    • Jen

      April 22, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Unfortunately summer is over here and its now autumn. And soon the limes will go with the sunshine. All the more reason to may hay while the lime shines, right?

       
  3. Jen and Tonic

    April 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I LOVE limes! I like to make limeade with them, or squeeze it over some chicken. YUMMY 😀

     
    • Jen

      April 24, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      Ode to limes
      Round, smooth and fresh,
      You sing and dance with my senses.
      You are often interchanged with the lemon,
      But deep down we all much prefer you.

       
  4. Zen and Genki

    April 25, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Nice job! My absolute favourite kind of pie (and the kind that I’m usually wayyyyyy too lazy to make :)) Yours looks delicious!

     
    • Jen

      April 25, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      And thanks again. Lol. This is the ultimate lazy persons pie. Hardly requires any cooking!

       
  5. Norma

    April 26, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    That pie was delicious, I will attempt to make it next week, Hope it tastes as good as yours.
    You are the “King of Cooking” in my eyes

     

Leave a Reply

 
