RSS

Don’t tap on the glass, the fish don’t like it.

26 Apr

Recently my work team moved floors in our building. After about 5 years sitting in the one place, I was both excited and weary of the change. We moved from Level 2 down to the Ground Level and, well, we might as well have moved to a different planet.

Level 2 was quiet, isolated and comfortable.

Ground Level is loud, exposed and strange.

We sit in a glass office surrounded by other people. When we arrived everyone told us we had just moved into the fishbowl. Ain’t that the truth. Being the new tropical fish in town brings bemused stares, noses pressed to the glass and a lot of questions.  But now I’ve gotten used to my aquarium, I’m quite fond of it. Besides closing the door and along with it, the air supply, I can play my music without using my headphones and I don’t have to go up two flights of stairs every morning. But there are some surprising differences that moving two floors has revealed:

  • There is no toilet on this level unless you use the disabled toilet in the foyer. You have to travel down to the basement if you want any kind of privacy. However the mere fact that you are going downstairs is like a neon sign saying…”This girl is going to pee!”
  • The kitchens down here service a lot people and for some reason that means that teaspoons are a rare commodity. Where the heck are all the teaspoons?
  • The fridge in one kitchen is so full that there is no room to put your lunch while the other kitchen fridge is empty. Maybe the reason for that is the sign on the inside saying “LABEL IT OR LOSE IT! NAME AND DATE.” Hmmm, trust issues anyone?
  •  The tea tastes funny.

At least the natives are friendly down here. Glug, glug.

My sock monsters blank stare says it all...

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Don’t tap on the glass, the fish don’t like it.

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart

    April 26, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Your sock monster is fantastic. I wish I had one to put on my desk

     
    • Jen

      April 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      LOL, thank you. He’s the first one I ever made and has a certain Frakenstein quality to him.

       
  2. viveka

    April 26, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    Same problem at home with the teaspoons … and I don’t really use teaspoons .. don’t take sugar in my coffee .. have to refill at least once a year, thank god for it’s IKEA’s – sorry, about the changes and your monster is adorable.

     
    • Jen

      April 26, 2012 at 7:10 pm

      Awww Wivi, you’re so supportive. Thank you. I guess teaspoons are like socks. A pair goes into the washing machine but only one comes out. 🙂

       
      • viveka

        April 26, 2012 at 7:19 pm

        Yes, same thing with socks … and I’m living alone and the only pair of socks I wash is the socks I use for my Zumba dancing, still one goes missing. I think it’s UFO’s that collect them. *smile

         
  3. Viciously Sweet

    April 27, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Oh no, the fishy bowl! I have an incredible problem with the fridge problems. My friend works at a big office that says you must label your food DATE-MONTH, she accidentally labeled it MONTH-DATE. And this woman threw it out before lunch on “principle”. Needless to say nobody likes that lady. I wish you luck, and I suggest hoarding teaspoons. 😉

     
    • Jen

      April 29, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      This is totally unrelated to my post but I’m so totes digging your profile pic. Ooh la la!

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        May 1, 2012 at 9:17 am

        Oh thanks! I did my hair and was really proud!

         
  4. Sal

    April 27, 2012 at 10:01 am

    I LOL at your lavatory dillemma, but i just really think that walking out into the foyer and standing outside the public toilets is just as big a neon sign. I hear the quality of the toilet paper is becoming quite controversial…

     

Leave a Reply

 
