RSS

A weekend of family and food = 152,698 calories.

14 May

It’s true…a thoroughly modern woman can do anything. Which I think is evident from the crazy weekend I just had. Let me fill you in.

It all started last Thursday (imagine wavy lines appearing to give you the impression we’re travelling back through time). My brother was in town and was staying at my house. As we don’t see each other that often, its always a grand affair. He also shares my passion for food so I had to turn up the heat and provide a mid-week masterpiece. Because a modern woman can work full time and produce gourmet meals…right? Hmmm. 

I served up a delicious tray of baked salmon fillets, king prawns, asparagus and procuitto. Accompanied by a pear, parmesan and rocket salad and steamed baby potatoes. All finished with a banoffee pie and ice-cream. Now, the only reason I made this feast after I had worked all day, run a thousand errands on my lunch break, then driven the 40 minutes home to stop at the supermarket a second time for a few last minute items, was because it was all supposed to be all made in 30 minutes. Or so the recipe alluded. The tray of seafood was easy and I’d do it again in a heartbeat. But the rest was just a little too much for this weary woman.

My little bro…eagily awaiting my (more than) 30 minute meal.

Friday was another early start with a day of woodchopping in store. And what does any good team of lumberjacks need for such an occasion? A lumberjacks breakfast of course. I made buttermilk pancakes with raspberries, bacon and maple syrup. I know you’re thinking…woah lady…high carbs, high sugar, high fat. Yeah…true, true, true. But as I ate these at 8am and didn’t eat anything else until 6pm, and helped chop two tonnes of wood, I say “meh?”

Looking like a pro wood chopper after my breakfast. Technically I didn’t ‘chop’ any wood…but I stacked a heck of a lot.

Saturday! A day of rest? Bah! Another early start with an appearance at a little girls 2nd birthday party. I was happy to eat a piece of her Elmo birthday cake at 11am simply because I didn’t make it. Then we were off again with a family trip to the beautiful Botanic Gardens for a stroll through leaves and trees and crisp autumn air. We did stop at the coffee shop but I was terribly disappointed, so that’s all I’ll say on that.

When I ordered a Snickers slice…I expected a little more than a hard, un-inspired block of sugar. Poor form coffee shop…poor form.

Saturday night – Indian takeaway and beers! Besides having a rather close encounter with a hot vindaloo, it was a wonderful meal shared with precious people.

So we’ve finally arrived at the pièce de résistance! Sunday – Mothers Day. My husband, my brother and his girlfriend (who arrived the day before) were on hand to create a mouthwatering mothers day spectacular for our mother. I was up early to make the dough for my much loved cinnamon rolls. See here for recipe. We then prepared, in a flurry of knives and bowls and hot pans the following:

  • Steamed and fried wantons with a spicy chicken filling
  • Thai fish cakes served with cucumber dressing
  • Thai chicken curry made with homemade paste (a first for me, and making your own paste really does make a kick ass curry)
  • Cinnamon Rolls served with chocolate and caramel ice-cream

    The ‘kids’ made mother cry from happiness with this Asian inspired lunch.

Needless to say I was rather exhausted by the end of it all and probably a few kilograms heavier. With all the marathon cooking happening, I did have a very vivid dream that I was a contestant on the reality TV cooking show – Masterchef. In the dream I made sausage rolls of which George Calombaris refused to try because he said the meat looked too dense. I happily argued the point with George but he still didn’t try my sausage rolls. Why George? Why?

And that concludes my amazing weekend with my amazing family. I hope you spoilt your mum rotten this Mothers Day!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “A weekend of family and food = 152,698 calories.

  1. John the Aussie

    May 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    What a great weekend! What great looking dishes!

     
    • Jen

      May 15, 2012 at 9:01 am

      Hey thanks John!!!! I admit that now I’m all fooded out and just want to eat toast for the next week. 🙂

       
  2. Wilhelmina Upton

    May 15, 2012 at 5:19 am

    Damn, the foods you served look delicious!!! It seems you spent a great weekend 🙂

     
    • Jen

      May 15, 2012 at 9:08 am

      LOL! I had a great weekend. But much like an artist finishing a painting…the thought of picking up my paintbrush again just feels exhausting.

      …..I’m not really comparing myself to an artisit. But I am a bit worn out. 🙂

       
      • Wilhelmina Upton

        May 15, 2012 at 5:29 pm

        I totally understand it. After the weekend of my cousin’s confirmation I myself couldn’t eat anymore. I ate soooo much cake on those days, I was glad to go on a 6 hour train ride without anything to eat 😀
        Thankfully this feeling passes though, and you enjoy eating again

         
  3. Viciously Sweet

    May 15, 2012 at 8:31 am

    That was one delicious looking weekend Jen! It looks like you and your family had a blast. I think you have inspired my next vacation… I think I’m going to stay at Jen’s delicious-food-hide-away 🙂

     
    • Jen

      May 15, 2012 at 9:00 am

      OH….have you read the disclaimer for Jen’s DFHA? It says in very small print….may cause extreme happiness from enormous calorie intake. As long as you’re down with that…Welcome aboard Miss…may we take your bags? 🙂

       
  4. viveka

    May 15, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Great post … cheerful .. and warm .. just wonder who counted the calories. ???? *smile That breakfast .. I wouldn’t mind tomorrow when I wake up – good night. !!!

     
  5. Rob Rubin

    May 21, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    That seems like way too much work to get all those calories. That’s why here in America, you could get all of them and more from a single trip to Carl’s Jr. So efficient.

     
  6. Rob Rubin

    May 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    P.S., You’ve made my extremely exclusive list of blogs I follow. To put that in perspective, it is probably much easier to get on the list of a Vegas club on a Saturday night, than get on my follower list.

     
    • Jen

      May 21, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      Wow! I’m extremely honoured! And especially because I’ve been trying to get onto that Vegas Club list for years. Today marks a monumental occasion in my life. Screw that VIP booth!

      Seriously, thanks for following. I will now to stalk your back catalogue…of posts. (That almost got awkward).

       
  7. Jen and Tonic

    May 23, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Come back to America and cook for me!! I’ll even eat vegemite!!!

     
    • Jen

      May 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      And corrupt you with Devil spread??? Never! Although I will cook for you…Maybe I could get a temporary work visa as your personal chef?

       
  8. Norma

    May 31, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Just caught up with your blogs which brightened my day enormously. Thank you so much my darling for the best weekend ever. Sharing it with my beautiful family and totally being spoilt with food wine and laughter, was an amazing time. Love you heaps.

     

Leave a Reply

 
