RSS

When you realise you have a super power.

15 May

I mean, I guess there have been signs. But I’ve never really put it all together. Not until recently anyway. So before you’re all like “yeah girrllll, you really are She-Ra!” Let me assure you, I only possess ONE super power and its less She-Ra and more like the character Bruce Willis played in the movie Unbreakable. All undercover and subtle.

Here are the signs:-

  • I’m a chronic light sleeper. So light in fact that I sense someone in the room before they enter the room. I need to wear ear plugs, not only to block out my husbands snoring but also the sound of yapping dogs miles away. I once completely believed that there was a kangaroo outside my bedroom window which would not stop its incessant ‘chet chet chet’ noises. It kept me up for 3 nights.
  • My ears reject bud-like ear phones. They just will not stay in there.
  • I constantly have to ask my husband to turn down the tv and/or radio. He says he cannot hear it but I claim that it’s at a very comfortable level, thank you very much. And who needs to hear the latest news bulletin with window shattering decibel anyway?
  • I’m a big believer in subtle background music rather than a “in your face” volume. If I have to raise my voice so you can hear me over the music, why am I even bothering to talk to you.
  • You can’t mutter something under your breath about me. I know what you just said, even if I pretend I don’t so you keep saying it.

If you haven’t already guessed…I believe I’m in the possession of super sonic hearing powers.You can call me Super Phonic Girl. I shall defend you with all the power that I have.

I’m in need of a catch phrase of which I shall shout at my assailants with every victory. Suggestions welcome. And if anyone wants to make me a superhero outfit, I respond well to primary colours!

There are more out there like me. Although, this Super Hero guy seems rather upset that his super hearing has resulted in what look like handless arms protruding from his head.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “When you realise you have a super power.

  1. viveka

    May 15, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Don’t know … if your superpower – is really something super * laughter – to not be able to avoid some “bullshit” from time to time.

     
    • Jen

      May 15, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      Come on Wivi…are you saying you don’t believe in my powers?

       
      • viveka

        May 15, 2012 at 2:09 pm

        Believe strongly in them .. but feel a bit sorry for you .. that have those sensitive ears *smile – to much shit .. not to be heard around us.

         
  2. Andrew

    May 15, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    What about- “Do not make an evil sound! Or thee I will pound! With my fist!” It’s not perfect. But it’s a start.

     
    • Jen

      May 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      I love it! And who doesn’t love a rhyming catch phrase? It shows I’m articulate as well as good of hearing.
      I think I still need something punchy and one-worded…like Shazam! ??

       
      • Andrew

        May 15, 2012 at 2:19 pm

        Sigh…Fine. Haha, no you’re right.

         
  3. John the Aussie

    May 15, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    “No evil deed shall be unheard, no.pleas of help shall fall on.deaf ears.

    As the sounds of justice are never absurd, the villains tyrany shall no longer be your fears”

    I wish I had super power Mrs Super Phonic Girl… All I got is enhanced abilities.

    Maybe I’m John the mildly enhanced Aussie…

     
    • Jen

      May 15, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      Geez, I should get all my readers to help me with difficult things like catch-phrases. And believe me, being mildly enhanced is nothing to sneeze at! 🙂

       
      • John the Aussie

        May 15, 2012 at 9:41 pm

        Oh and for that battle scene when the villain says something just reply with “Blow it out your ear” really fast, it’ll be misheard every time.

         
  4. silentlyheardonce

    May 16, 2012 at 8:44 am

    I share your powers. I can’t use ear buds either. I live with a mother and daughter who both are hard of hearing. I sit in the basement and hear their whole conversations.

     
    • Jen

      May 16, 2012 at 11:08 am

      At least you know if they’re plotting against you! lol.

      We may have to start a Super Phonic Girl club! 🙂

       
  5. Viciously Sweet

    May 16, 2012 at 8:50 am

    How about “I can hear you from a mile away!”

    And then you could stop villains, and save peace and quiet once and for all.

    This may turn into a doodle 😉

     
    • Jen

      May 16, 2012 at 11:05 am

      Ooooh, the potential doodle has me all in a tizzy. Yes, saving peace and quiet one noisy villan at a time! (hand on hip, other hand to ear)

       
      • John the Aussie

        May 16, 2012 at 4:46 pm

        Duct tape and ball gags line the utility belt…

         
      • Jen

        May 16, 2012 at 5:08 pm

        Lol. I had to read that a couple of times.

         
  6. speaker7

    May 21, 2012 at 12:30 am

    Found this blog from sips of Jen and tonic, but you probably already heard me clicking from her blog to yours.

     
    • Jen

      May 21, 2012 at 7:25 am

      LOL…I actually heard you before you decided to click on over. Oooooh. 🙂

      Thanks for joining the modern train to womensville!

       
  7. Jen and Tonic

    May 21, 2012 at 7:05 am

    This is one way we are SO opposite. I can’t hear to save my life. No, really. A train could be behind me and I’d think, “Hmmm, something seems a little off in the air right now.”

    (whispers)

    Did you hear that?

     
    • Jen

      May 21, 2012 at 7:42 am

      LOL…This is why we compliment each other. For what you lack in hearing, you make up with explosively witty post comments. Now I HEARD that…word to yo mama.

       

Leave a Reply

 
