RSS

The Lone Zucchini

06 Feb

What do you do with a single zucchini? I recently ended up with a gorgeous looking yellow zucchini and two big beautiful beetroots from my bro’s garden. Not feeling adventurous to try them together for a Monday night dinner, I just went with a tried and true favourite, the Zucchini Slice. I paired my Lone Ranger Yellow, with two friendly green guys. This probably isn’t the healthiest slice but it tastes good, its easy and it always works. Plus there’s always lots left over for lunches.

Zucchini Slice

  • 375g zucchini, grated
  • 3 bacon rashes or 4 slices ham
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup grated cheese
  • 1 cup SR flour
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 5 eggs
  • salt and pepper

Coarsley grate unpeeled zucchini, trimming ends. Chop bacon finely. Combine zucchini, bacon, onion, cheese, flour, oil and eggs. Season with salt and pepper. Pour into a well-greased lamington pan (20 x 30 cm). I use a glass Pyrex one. It doesn’t say to but I top mine with a bit more cheese or breadcrumbs. Tonight I was feeling particular ooh la la and used Panko breadcrumbs. They worked a treat. Bake in moderate oven for 30-40 mins or until browned. Serves 4-6 (or one modern woman and her husband with leftovers).

P.S. Did you notice how many times I used the word “zucchini”? I did, its 9.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Fire Up the Rayburn

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Lone Zucchini

  1. Katie

    February 6, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    yum. I lovethis slice!

     
  2. Mum

    February 8, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    A most wonderful dish and standby, especially when made with Choada’s zucchini from his garden

     

Leave a Reply

 
