RSS

Anti-Cocktail of the Week – Rekorderlig Winter Cider

09 Mar

Ok ok…don’t start screaming at the computer just yet. So I know it’s not technically a cocktail and I certainly didn’t make it with my own little Tom Cruise Cocktail hands. But it’s utterly delicious. But wait, I’m getting ahead of myself. I will start at the beginning.

I was lucky enough to get a four day weekend starting yesterday and I decided to drive to the big smoke and go to, wait for it, IKEA! Yay!! I love Ikea. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea but whatevs. It’s a fun experience. I spent 3 hours following those arrows around the store. Thinking about the wicker chair, stockpiling napkins and pondering over an outdoor setting. It was wonderful.

When I came to the end, I even went to the Swedish Food Market and picked up some meatballs. Guess what we’re having tonight? I was also intrigued by the potato chips. Yes sir, two bags of those!

Which finally brings me to the drink of the week. Last Friday night I went to my first ever work social club drinks thingy. I’ve only worked there 5 years. It was great though and I was introduced to my drink of the week…Rekorderlig Winter Cider. The description reads… “Swedish apple cider from Vimmerby with cinnamon and vanilla.” Ah, yummy much? Indeed.

So tonight, its Swedish all the way and I’m excited. Oh which reminds me, better get those meatballs going. I’m doing them with mashed potato, lingonberry jam and cream sauce. Apparently that’s traditional. Sorry if it’s a grossly inappropriate way to really eat Swedish meatballs.

Have a great weekend!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2012 in In the Liquor Cabinet

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Anti-Cocktail of the Week – Rekorderlig Winter Cider

  1. Letizia

    March 9, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    A great weekend to you too…you’re lucky…yours already started ;)!!

     
  2. Wilhelmina Upton

    March 10, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Gosh, I’m so jealous. I fell in love with the Rekorderlig Summer Edition over a year ago when I actually was living in Sweden. And now I’m homesick again. Enjoy your köttbullar and Rekorderlig!

     
    • Jen

      March 10, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      No way…I’m jealous of you…getting to try it whilst actually in Sweden. Wow.
      It was really delicious. And the potato chips rocked!!! 🙂

       
      • Wilhelmina Upton

        March 10, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        The chips are great, almost bought them myself when I was at IKEA the last time 🙂

         
  3. silentlyheardonce

    March 10, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I enjoyed reading. Enjoy your weekend.

     
  4. Katie

    March 13, 2012 at 6:31 am

    yummmmmm.

     
  5. viveka

    March 31, 2012 at 4:29 am

    There is a lot more to Sweden … then IKEA, ABBA, cider, dynamite and meatballs – still … they are the best.
    Great post here – so many say they hate IKEA, but inside their homes they always have something .. from the famous Swedish store.
    Spring greetings from Landskrona in Sweden.
    Viveka

     
    • Jen

      March 31, 2012 at 8:22 am

      Firstly…dynamite? I did not realise this. Secondly, I love everything else you mentioned. I have no doubt there is more to your beautiful country…I’d love to visit one day and learn all about your dynamite (ha ha) history. Seriously, thanks for stopping by…and thanks for the Spring greetings…its Autumn here now and decidedly foggy for a Saturday morning. 🙂

       
      • viveka

        March 31, 2012 at 8:26 am

        Yes, Nobel prize is based on dynamite – please read about it – in my post – http://wp.me/p293Pw-vz
        It going to be a pleasure to follow you. Have a great weekend. Viveka

         

Leave a comment