RSS

Couch to 5k – Week 1

26 Mar

Whoever coined the phrase “couch potato” must have been talking about me. I have a well defined ass-groove carved into my recliner. It loves me and I love it. It’s a sweet pillowy heaven that hugs my shapely curves.  Have I painted a vivid enough picture yet? Good. Well, very soon my loving recliner is about to feel the icey coldness of my absence. Yes, that’s right. I’m starting an exercise regime!

Throughout my entire existence I have been prone to fits and bursts of enthusiastic exercise obsessions. In my (much) younger days I played netball for quite a few years. I played the Centre position…very fitting as I don’t mind being the centre of attention most of the time. Our team was called the Kitty Kats and after each game, our coaches gave each player a mini Kit Kat chocolate. I won’t lie and say that it wasn’t a large motivation for playing. But what kind of message was that sending a young, impressionable, budding athlete? Exercise like a crazy person and then eat chocolate? I’m telling you it must have stuck because I seem to reward myself the same way these days (minus the exercise).

That's me at the peak of my athletic career...with the big C on my bib.

So the truth is I’m getting older. And my body doesn’t seem to bounce back from eating binges the way it used to. Enter….technology! Today I downloaded the Ease Into 5k app. Its designed to get me from the warm embrace of the couch, to running 5 km’s in just 8 short weeks. I’m going to tell you straight up this body is not the body of a runner. But I won’t let that stop me. Uh ah, no way.

Starting tomorrow…(tonight I have to cook a chocolate cake for my friends birthday and yes I will lick the bowl) I will be lacing up my runners for the first of my runs/walks/panting/hobbling home exercise.

Wait! What’s that I hear? It’s the eye of the tiger, its the thrill of the fight….

Wish me luck blog-o-sphere!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Couch to 5k – Week 1

  1. actsofstyle

    March 27, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Good luck! I just got the app. ZOMBIES, RUN! I’ve heard its awesome. Just in case you want extra motivation 🙂

     
    • Jen

      March 27, 2012 at 7:39 am

      Are you serious?? Did you read my Undead post about zombies? I think that app was made for me… thank you! 🙂

       
  2. Jen and Tonic

    March 27, 2012 at 2:57 am

    AH! I did the couch to 5k programs and it works. I ran when I was younger as part of sports conditioning, but I NEVER considered myself a runner. I honestly couldn’t think of something more excruciating than prancing around with all of my body parts flapping in the wind. A couple years ago I saw an advertisement for something called Warrior Dash which is a 5k combined with an obstacle course. It’s a fun run, really. I completed it!!

    Kudos to you for doing this!! Keep us posted 😀

     
    • Jen

      March 27, 2012 at 7:43 am

      Go you!! I’ll just pretend I’m dashing like a warrior and try jumping over some of the neighbours fences or something.

      Be warned…I am prone to giving up exercise regimes half way through but I’m going to give it a red hot go!

       
  3. Viciously Sweet

    March 27, 2012 at 9:30 am

    Go Jen! I’m imagining that you are exercising in that same uniform from your picture… but with really fluffy wrist and head bands, with eye of the tiger blazing, and you being all victorious and such!
    Good Luck!

     
    • Jen

      March 27, 2012 at 9:37 am

      LOL…I still have that little red netball skirt and it probably only fits around one of my legs. Its super cute though and has survived the numerous house moves over the years. Oh! I’m going to find some fluffy wrist and head bands now. And wear my socks high and proud! 🙂

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        March 28, 2012 at 6:04 am

        The idea of Proud Socks makes me happy!

         

Leave a Reply

 
