RSS

Care Bear versus She-Ra!

08 Feb

On a recent camping trip a friend of mine gave me the nickname of “Care Bear”. He calls me that all the time

"Jen, you shoot rainbows out of your butt."

 now. Asking why I should be worthy of such a nickname, he said “you can’t be mean and you’re as friendly as a Care Bear.  You even shoot happy rainbows out of your butt.” Hmmmm.

It got me thinking though…Is this how people see me? As some fuzzy, cuddly ineffectual bear with poly cotton insides? I mean the Care Bears do live in the Care Kingdom and have a Care-O-Meter which is pretty cool. And believe me, I do care. But what else do they do? Apparently if you’re a villan going up against a Care Bear, it’s about as scary as going up against the Easter Bunny. Lame.

If I were to be a fictional cartoon character, I’d choose She-Ra in a heartbeat. She’s freakin’ awesome. I mean, she’s the Princess of Power for heaven’s sake. Care-O-Meter v Princess of Power??? Um hello??

"Stay away evil robot, I will crush you!"

She also has super-human strength, wields a sword and swims faster than is humanly possible. I know she was created in 1985 but she’s a modern woman if ever I’ve seen one. Plus, she wears a cape, awesome headdress and boots. Hells yeah girrrrrl!

So yeah, people probably do see me as a pink fluffy soft-hearted bear but inside I’m She-Ra all the way baby! Do not pit your evil robotic villan against me, they will lose.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Care Bear versus She-Ra!

  1. kelliegd

    February 8, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Me too Jen!! Love She-ra, in fact I’m off to look for He-man and She-ra DVD’s for the kids…

     
    • Jennifer

      February 8, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      Adore this Kell….by the power of grey skull.

       
  2. Neets

    February 8, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    I was obsessed with She-Ra – and owned the raindbow cloud care bear … not sure who I would be as a Superhero???!!

     
    • jwhichelo

      February 8, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Neets – you are She-Ra! Right down the the impossibly small waist.

       
  3. Katie

    February 9, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Well blame my age i will, I missed the boat with She-Rha unfortunately. However when I was young I was very fond of those “fuzzy, cuddly ineffectual” little bears “with poly cotton insides”.
    My mum does recall though that my precious little innocent soul was very scared of the bad guy. Dark heart is it?? Geez what a sooky La la…
    I will say though, if I were to be one of these characters on a daily basis, I would definately be a fuzzy bear. I am generally happy and perky, oh so nice to most, short and round, happy go lucky, and give the best darn squishy hugs you could get! Anything wrong with that? I feel not. However watch out when your sleeping I may switch teams and become the ultimate princess of power! (In my dreams) haha

     
    • jwhichelo

      February 9, 2012 at 10:32 am

      Ahahaha…Katie!!! Best comment ever. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being a fuzzy bear. Nothing at all. And I have to say, you do give super awesome hugs. But sometimes, just sometimes, being a Princess of Power is super awesome too. xx

       
  4. Viciously Sweet

    February 14, 2012 at 5:42 am

    Who else could you possibly want to be if you were a cartoon? Last week, when opening a box that I swear was taped with nails I shouted, “By the Power of Grayskull!” I know that’s He-man’s line, but I felt really victorious when it opened.

     
    • Jen

      February 14, 2012 at 8:46 am

      This is excellent!! Were you wearing your headdress and boots at the time too?

       
      • Viciously Sweet

        February 14, 2012 at 9:52 am

        Sadly not, however my father heard me say this and just walked past shaking his head…

         
      • Jen

        February 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

        Absolute gold.

         
  5. Amanda Thomas

    May 17, 2012 at 10:31 am

    … you know–I had been using my Care-Bear stare for some years, but with certain events taking place to make me stronger, I have been channeling my inner She-Ra. Great post! \m/

     
    • Jen

      May 17, 2012 at 11:24 am

      They seem to be a match made in heaven…start out as a Care Bear and morph into She-Ra!

      Ha! I’m going to try my Care Bear Stare today. Love it! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
