RSS

I wanna take your picture…

01 Apr

I want to tell you a little story. It’s about a woman I know.

This woman is a terrific mother and dedicated keeper of family history. On a big family holiday (the last shall we say before her children all ventured into the big wide world), this woman made it her mission to document every waking moment of the trip.

  • Departure lounge photo – check
  • Hotel arrival photo – check
  • Resort bungalow room by room photos – check
  • Kids by the resort name sign photo – check
  • Kids eating ice-cream photo – check

Well…you get the picture (no pun intended). By the time day two had arrived, no one much felt like saying ‘cheese’ and smiling til their cheeks hurt. But it was this woman’s prerogative to snap snap snap until her fingers bled.

By the time it came to change the roll of film (yeah, we are going back some years), the woman was shocked, appalled and horrified to realise she never put film in the camera in the first place. All those precious family memories lost. That woman is my mother.

I actually thought the whole thing was pretty funny at the time. Especially as we moaned and groaned every time she said, “now stand there and smile”. But she was completely devastated. It wasn’t until I went on a trip to America years later with my friend and ended up losing 5 rolls of film that I understood what she went through. I was totally inconsolable at the time.

So what’s with our fascination in capturing single moments in time? Well for me it has to be that I have the worst memory in the history of remembering things. So I love going back through old photographs reliving  forgotten adventures…sometimes they are a complete surprise to me. “Whaaa, did I really do that??”

I recently wrote a fantastical post about playsuits. The best part of the post was going to be moi in a playsuit circa 1998. But I couldn’t find the photo. My mother diligently helped me go through boxes and boxes of photographs trying to find the one of me posing like John Travolta in a blue pinstripe playsuit wearing my infamous roller skates. We never did find that photo…so I never ended up publishing that post. Shame, I really liked it.

It did make me realise though what a wonderful legacy my mum has left us with her years and years of happy snapping. Especially as sometimes we were less than gracious about it. So this one’s for you mama darling…thank you! xx

Here are some of the activities I have no recollection of doing.

My early start to a modelling career.

Closely followed by an equestrian career.

Which led to a stunt water ski career.

Which finally led me to a fighter pilot career with the Australian Airforce.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2012 in Charmed, I'm Sure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “I wanna take your picture…

  1. viveka

    April 1, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    Wonderful story – great picture’s. Personal I can’t recall that we ever has taken pictures in our family – yes, my aunt did. Really like your photo’s and the story. Brought a smile to my Sunday.

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 8:59 am

      Thank you!!! I really am grateful to my mother for taking so many photos of me as a child. Let’s just not talk about the home movies….tres embarrassing!! Lol.

       
  2. John the Aussie

    April 1, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Two years ago when Mackay, Qld, Aus. went through that major flood, 30 photo albums were saturated plus 10 shoe boxes full of not so great photos. I remember every trip where mum or dad replaced the roll 3 or 5 times a day.

    A long dedicated process of my father throwing out every photo that did not include a family member, and attempted to wipe clean every other photo.

    We ended up with a 55 litre box full of family, and some laminated awards, certificates and some mothers day and fathers day cards, homemade and laminated.

    18 months later and each photo has been scanned, every friend and family member sent copies of photos of events lost in the water. In unison and effort each photo (from memory, 8,000 + scanned pictures) presented to me I shared the lot back with everyone who helped

    These memories how reside on 10 hardrives. As many were lost, so many memories were found. As laughter, tears, arguments were thrown across the table in order of events the photos held. We re created baby albums, holidays, weddings, birthdays, wakes, and sheer family fun.

    We lost 12 of my birthdays, many of my parents first wedding, and hundreds of BBQ events/get togethers, but those memories that remain on all our shelves and a long assed slide show, we really cherish these pictorial moments a lot more.

     
    • Jen

      April 1, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Wow! That was a mega effort!!! I’m glad that even though you lost so many pictures, you’ve obviously rediscovered others and shared your treasured memories. Well done!

       
  3. Lissy-J

    April 2, 2012 at 12:39 am

    Lovely post Jen.

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 10:13 am

      Thanks my sweet!

       
  4. Nikinoonaa

    April 2, 2012 at 1:55 am

    Is that Tom Cruise on the left???

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 9:00 am

      LOL….he wishes.

       
    • Sal

      April 3, 2012 at 10:29 am

      I thought Tom Cruise was the Horses Ass!! LOLZ
      I wish my family would be better at old photos, my mother has been known to throw away whole boxes without sorting through them.

       
      • Jen

        April 3, 2012 at 10:47 am

        SAL – OUTRAGEOUS!!! To my mother, throwing away photos is the equivalent to removing a limb. I say you stage a coo and rescue those photo boxes ASAP!!!

         
  5. silentlyheardonce

    April 2, 2012 at 8:13 am

    That was fun. You were such a cute girl with so many dreams. I enjoyed this post. 🙂

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Awww, thank you. Needless to say, I never did go professional with any of those things. LOL.

       
      • silentlyheardonce

        April 2, 2012 at 9:03 am

        lol Oh I thought you were a ‘Jill’ of all trades. 🙂

         
      • Jen

        April 2, 2012 at 9:29 am

        I’d like to think I was…unofficially of course. lol.

         
  6. Jen and Tonic

    April 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Oh gosh, I love taking pictures of everything. I know I’ve gone overboard at times (“Come on, fall down just one more time. I didn’t capture it the first 146 times!) but I have good intentions. One of my favorite memories as a child is going through photos of myself from my younger years. It’s so cool to think about how tiny I was, or to see the experiences of those events through the photographers’ eyes. I took an ungodly amount of pictures of my nephew for the first few years of his life, and I hope one day he gets joy out of looking at them.

    Love your personal photos! You were a looker even back then.

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      We have more in common every day…surely after that inticing discription of your childhood, you owe me a dorky little Jen picture? Bah! I’m pretty sure I wasn’t considered a looker back then…with those terrible knobbly knees (which I still have BTW)….but thanks!!!! 🙂

       
  7. Mel

    April 2, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks Nanny Norms for all your memories, we love you. Good job Jaff, I still have lots of great photos of all the fun times we have had together, lucky your mum started that tradition early so we can look back and laugh at the photos of all the fun times we have had together 🙂

     
    • Jen

      April 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm

      Lol…Melvin – some of those photos should never see the light of day!! Lots more happy memories to come though.

       
  8. Viciously Sweet

    April 4, 2012 at 8:10 am

    I take way too many pictures of everything. And also big thumbs up to that water skiing outfit. I think that is a must have for me… right now!

     
  9. Neets

    April 4, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Love the pics Jen .. the guy near the plane looks impressed … not lol

     
  10. Norma

    April 19, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Thanks Jen and Mel for your kind words for me and I would say for many mothers out there, that their main ambition is to take as many photos of their growing children as possible in as many situations as possible. Lo and behold, some not so welcome by their offspring. We will find that wayward photo of you in the Travolta pose, don’t dispair, my lovely, I will make it my priority to do so.

     

Leave a Reply

 
